on the west coast of New Zealand.
Pancake rocks in Punakaiki on the west coast of New Zealand. © TNC (Michael Looker)

Who We Are

Accountability

Why We Receive High Charity Ratings

Contact Us

Our Mission

The mission of The Nature Conservancy (TNC) is to conserve the lands and waters on which all life depends.

 

Our Vision

TNC’s vision is a world where people and nature thrive together. To achieve this positive vision of the future, we need to recognize the unprecedented challenges that affect global communities, and work together to find new ways to help nature thrive while securing a more prosperous future for people. TNC is committed to protecting land and water at unparalleled scales, tackling climate change, providing food and water sustainably for a growing population, building healthy cities, and connecting people and nature.

Everyone depends on a healthy, diverse environment, whether we live in Hong Kong, London or New York. It’s our turn to invest in nature.

 

Our Values

Integrity Beyond Reproach:

We will meet the highest ethical and professional standards in all of our organizational endeavors and, in doing so, we hold ourselves accountable to our mission and to the public. 

  • Be Honest at all times
  • Be accountable to each other, to the mission, to our donors, members, partners, and to the public (Read our Privacy Policy)
  • Earn trust by building relationships, being competent, and following through on all of our commitments

Respect for People, Communities, and Cultures:

Enduring conservation success depends on the active involvement of people and partners whose lives and livelihoods are linked to the natural systems we seek to conserve. We respect the needs, values and traditions of local communities and cultures, and we forge relationships based on mutual benefit and trust. 

  • Demonstrate respect by committing to local, on the ground involvement with people, communities and cultures, and with awareness and sensitivity to their economic realities
  • Treat our partners and colleagues with fairness and honesty
  • Celebrate individual, team and project success as the success of all who work for TNC
  • Work collaboratively with all sectors of society, including indigenous people, to develop practical conservation solutions

Commitment to Diversity:

We recognize that conservation is best advanced by the leadership and contributions of men and women of diverse backgrounds, beliefs and cultures. We will recruit and mentor staff to create an inclusive organization that reflects our global character.  

  • Respect and be open to a variety of viewpoints and diversity of thought
  • Work in an environment that encourages each of us to achieve our potential and values the contributions of all
  • Expand and strengthen the diversity of our workforce, trustee base and boards

One Conservancy:

Our strength and vitality lie in being one organization working together in local places and across borders to achieve our global mission. We value the collective and collaborative efforts that are so essential to our success.  

  • Work across all of our operations to implement and support the right strategies, at the right scales, and at the right places always with the greater good of our mission in mind
  • Act with continuity of purpose in everything we do, from the focus of our conservation efforts to the allocation of our resources
  • Celebrate individual, team and project success as the success of all who work for TNC

Tangible, Lasting Results:

We use the best available science, a creative spirit, and a collaborative, non-confrontational approach to craft innovative solutions to complex conservation problems at scales that matter and in ways that will endure. 

  • Use a creative spirit and original thought in the pursuit of excellence
  • Develop, analyze and use the best available conservation science and a science-based rigor to set priorities, make decisions, take action and measure results
  • Conduct our business in an environmentally sensitive manner

What Makes us Different

It is not just about what we do, but also how we do it. We are leaders with an optimistic vision guided by science, focused on being pragmatic, collaborative, community-based, and financially savvy. We take an innovative approach to find win-win solutions to complex conservation problems that allows us to achieve tangible and lasting results.

TNC Numbers Infographic
TNC by the Numbers about TNC values © TNC
an elderly farmer holding a potato sprout  on the edge of Laohegou Nature Reserve in China, Pingwu County, Sichuan Province, China.
In Minzhu Village, an elderly farmer holding a potato sprout on the edge of Laohegou Nature Reserve in China, Pingwu County, Sichuan Province, China. © Nick Hall

Impact Report and Finances

From graduating another 67 students through our Nature Works HK Environmental Leadership Program to launching innovative Blue Resilience Carbon Credits to speed up the fight against climate change, and from a new “turtle detective” program to crack down on the illegal Hawksbill sea turtle trade to more water funds to ensure sustainable water supplies for major cities, 2018 was a huge year for conservation. Thanks to our supporters — our Conservation Champions — for making these achievements possible.

The world depends on us more than ever, so if you’re not already a Conservation Champion, join us today.

What we achieved together

Thanks to our supporters and partners in Hong Kong and around the world, The Nature Conservancy (TNC) accomplished remarkable conservation results. Across Asia, Australia and the Pacific Islands, we restored forests, secured habitats, protected communities and built climate change resilience.

on Lantau Island, Hong Kong
Sunset Peak on Lantau Island, Hong Kong © Eric Au-Yeung

Finances and Accountability

We carry out our work with a deep commitment to accountability and transparency. We want you and everyone in Hong Kong and around the world to know as much as possible about how TNC operates and how carefully and effectively we use your donations. We are transparent about our finances, and we are highly rated by charity watchdog organizations. Learn more about our financials in this year’s report. The charts and numbers here depict TNC’s 2018 global finances in Hong Kong dollars.

about TNC finances account
Infographics about TNC finances account © TNC
TESTIMONIAL
Testimonial of TNC monthly supporters © TNC

High Charity Ratings

As a leading global charity, we hold ourselves accountable to our members, the public and all creatures that have a stake in the preservation of the world’s natural resources. And we seek to make use of every Hong Kong Dollar donated to TNC with careful attention to effectiveness and efficiency.

More than seventy percent of our funding goes directly into our conservation work. Charity watchdog organizations applaud organizations who invest 66 percent or more of their funding directly into their work. TNC consistently receives high charity ratings from charity watchdog organizations. For example, we are:

is an initiative of The Hong Kong Council of Social Service that aims to enhance charity accountability and transparency in Hong Kong.
Wise Giving is an initiative of The Hong Kong Council of Social Service that aims to enhance charity accountability and transparency in Hong Kong. © Wise Giving
  • Listed with WiseGiving, an initiative by The Hong Kong Council of Social Service.
  • A Better Business Bureau WiseGiving Alliance Accredited Charity. We meet all of the Alliance’s Standards for Charity Accountability.
  • Compliant with the Ethical Guidelines for Fundraising and Other Nonprofit Communications set forth by the Direct Marketing Association.
in Hong Kong
Needle Hill in Hong Kong © Kin Shing Ip/TNC Photo Contest 2018

The Nature Conservancy’s (TNC’s) conservation efforts around the world have led to the protection of more than 52.6 million hectares of lands and 8,000 kilometers of rivers. However, we could not have achieved so much — nor can we continue to make a difference — without support from individuals like you.

Like most major non-profit organizations in Hong Kong and across the globe, TNC employs a variety of fundraising channels to ask for your support in accomplishing our mission — to protect the lands and waters on which all life depends. These fundraising channels include direct mail, face-to-face, special events, our website and social media.

Please browse the Frequently Asked Questions below to learn more about our fundraising channels and why we use them. And if you ever have a question or concern about how we fundraise, please email us at hksupporter@tnc.org or call us at +852 3500 8228.

Frequently Asked

  • What is face-to-face fundraising and how is it regulated?

    You may have noticed our Fundraising Ambassadors around town, engaging members of the public in conversations about the environment and asking them to consider making a monthly gift via credit card or direct debit to support our work. They work with TNC to inform people about conservation challenges, and providing people the opportunity to participate and make a difference through a regular donation. They can be found in public venues like malls, at private events, and even on the doorsteps of local businesses, wearing uniforms with TNC’s logo, carrying identification badges and folders with our information and registration documents.

    TNC is a member of the Face-to-Face (F2F) Monthly Giving Alliance. The Alliance is a charity-led, self-regulatory membership organization that aims to: promote accountable face-to-face monthly donor recruitment in Hong Kong, and enhance public understanding about their right to know before committing to monthly giving to a charitable organization. Organizational members are bound by the rules of the Alliance and are required to comply with their Code of Practice for F2F monthly donors’ recruitment. Please refer to their website for more information on the Alliance.

  • Why does TNC do face-to-face fundraising?

    Face-to-face fundraising provides substantial support for TNC and for the other organizations that make use of this channel. We’re always looking for the most efficient way to acquire supporters who want to help us achieve conservation goals, and face-to-face fundraising is one of the most effective methods we have found.

    Having our Fundraising Ambassadors out around town is also a great way for people to learn more about TNC — they can answer questions about our projects, our goals, and how our supporters’ donations make a difference.

  • Who are the fundraising ambassadors?

    Whether employed directly by us, or by an agency we’ve contracted for this purpose, the Fundraising Ambassadors are trained and well-versed about TNC and our mission. According to the professional fundraisers code of conduct, to which they must adhere, our Fundraising Ambassadors are obliged to politely end their approach when asked, should not put pressure on someone to make a donation, and never approach adults who might be considered vulnerable. Learn more about our ambassadors and meet one here.

    For easy identification, our Fundraising Ambassadors wear uniforms with TNC’s logo, and carry identify badges and folders with our information and registration documents.

  • What can I expect from an interaction with a fundraising ambassador?

    If you take the time to speak with one of our Fundraising Ambassadors — and we hope you will — you should expect to have a friendly, informative conversation about TNC, our mission and goals, and how your support can make a difference. You will likely be invited to become one of our Conservation Champions by signing up to make a monthly donation via credit card or direct debit.

    You will never be asked for a cash donation, and for security reasons, our Fundraising Ambassadors are not allowed to accept one. If you have a concern about an interaction with one of our Fundraising Ambassadors, please email us at hksupporter@tnc.org  or call us +852 3500 8228.

    If you agree to join TNC as a Conservation Champion, our Fundraising Ambassador can assist you in filling out a donation form. Your personal and financial information will be stored securely, and you will begin receiving communication materials as Conservation Champion’s benefits, detailing how your donation makes a difference.

  • Why does TNC send direct mail?

    Like face-to-face, direct mail is a very efficient fundraising channel that helps us attract new donors that are so necessary to protect the lands and waters on which all life depends — TNC’s mission. It is a way to introduce us to people who might not hear about TNC otherwise, and ask them to consider joining us as a Conservation Champion by making a donation.

    We believe it is always best to avoid using paper whenever possible and invite all of our supporters and potential supporters to contact us at +852 3500 8228 and let us know if they would prefer to receive only paperless communications from us.

    When we do use paper, we make every effort to use recycled and recyclable paper and to use paper certified by the Forest Stewardship Council (FSC), a global non-profit organization dedicated to forest conservation and responsible forest management. FSC certification ensures that the paper used comes from well-managed forests that provide environmental, social and economic benefits to the communities that manage them.

  • How can I make a donation online?

    There are two ways to make a donation and join TNC as a Conservation Champion online: you can submit an electronic donation using credit card here, or you can print and fill out a donation form here and then fax or mail to us.

You may have already met one of our Fundraising Ambassadors about town. They are professional spokespeople for our organization, and their job is to help us raise awareness and financial support for our important global mission. Our Fundraising Ambassadors can be found at special events, in malls and plazas, and even the lobbies of office buildings, sharing information about TNC and our projects across Asia that help preserve and even improve our lives here in Hong Kong. They invite interested members of the public — like you — to join us as Conservation Champions by making a monthly gift via direct debit or credit card.

Our Fundraising Ambassadors can be recognized by their TNC polo shirts, and by their identification badges and TNC folders with more information and our registration documents.

Join us all in the world’s most ambitious effort yet to save the lands and waters we all depend on. Become a monthly Conservation Champion today.

Now is the Time to Act

Join our cause to protect our planet and our future.

位於新西蘭西岸
普納凱基的千層石岩 位於新西蘭西岸 © TNC (Michael Looker)

關於我們

我們的責任

連接

我們的使命

TNC的使命是保護萬物賴以為生的土地及水資源。

 

我們的願景

TNC的願景是人與自然的共同發展。

要實現此願景,我們必須認識現今全球社會面對的空前危機,彼此攜手並肩,幫助大自然生生不息的同時,也為人類締造一個繁榮未來。

TNC致力大規模保護土地和水資源,減緩氣候變化,為日益增長的人口提供可持續的食物和水源,建設健康城市,並加深人與自然的聯繫。

無論您身處香港還是世界任何一個角落,您都需要一個健康的生活環境。我們都要為保護大自然出一分力。

 

我們的價值

正直忠誠的操守

在TNC,我們努力工作之餘,亦時刻堅守我們的使命及對公眾負責,以保持最高的道德標準及專業水平。

  • 時刻保持真誠
  • 對我們的同僚、使命、捐助者、會員、合作伙伴以及公眾負責 
  • 透過建立關係,保持卓越表現及堅守承諾,從而獲取公眾對我們的信任

 

尊重各地居民、社區及文化

由於當地居民及合作伙伴的日常生活與保育地點有著密切關係,要環保計劃得以持續成功推行,就首先要得到他們的支持及積極參與。因此,我們絕對尊重保育地點的當地社區人士,更不會忽略他們的需要、價值觀、傳統習俗及文化。保育工作會以大家的共同利益及互信關係為依歸。

  • 透過跟當地居民實地接觸,深入了解社區文化,建立互相尊重的關係,同時密切留意當地居民於經濟上的需要
  • 以公正及誠實的態度對侍我們的合作伙伴及同僚
  • 與社會各界包括原居民合作,發展切合實際需要的保育方案

 

尊重多元文化

我們深信,保育運動需要不同性別、不同背景及擁有不同信念和文化的各界人士領導與付出,才會取得成功。因此,我們在聘請及培訓職員方面均著重包容性,盡展TNC全球化的特質。

  • 尊重及接納不同的見解及思維
  • 每個崗位都受到重視 ,讓各人皆可在工作上發揮潛能,並重視大家所作出的貢獻
  • 提升及鞏固工作團隊、受託人及董事局的多元性

 

建立共同目標

我們的優勢及力量建基於全球各地仝人堅守一致的保育信念。眾志成城的參與是我們在全球各地成功實踐保育使命的根本。

  • 時刻毋忘TNC的宏大使命,確保不同的部門均採取正確的策略,以最有效的規模在適當地方實踐計劃,務求達到最佳效果
  • 無論在保育計劃或資源分配方面,所有行動都以可持續發展作為定位
  • 無論是個別成員、整個團隊或保育項目所取得的成功,TNC上下均會一起共享成果

 

實際及持久的成果

我們以最先進的科學、富創意的精神及透過各方合作、非對抗性的態度,為複雜的保育問題制定最有效及最持久的創新解決方案。

  • 透過細心分析數據,衡量緩急,並輔以最先進的科學發展各種保育大計,確切實行之餘,亦會檢討成效
  • 以創意思維及原創精神追求最優質效果
  • 機構以最能惠及環境的方式營運

我們與眾不同

透過獨特創新保育模式,我們有著積極的願景,以科學為依據,提供切實可行、合作與社區建設為本、及擁有可持續資金運營模式的策略,解決現今保育難題,實現持久、有效和積極的保育大計。

TNC重要數據
TNC重要數據 資訊圖 © TNC
an elderly farmer holding a potato sprout  on the edge of Laohegou Nature Reserve in China, Pingwu County, Sichuan Province, China.
In Minzhu Village, an elderly farmer holding a potato sprout on the edge of Laohegou Nature Reserve in China, Pingwu County, Sichuan Province, China. © Nick Hall

年報及財務資金狀況

2018年是保育豐收年:在香港我們透過「自然大作為」環保領袖計劃培育了67位青年畢業生。國際層面上,我們開展了「藍碳減排信用額」以加快對抗氣候變化的步伐,我們又設立「海龜偵探」計劃來打擊非法玳瑁海龜買賣活動。此外,我們亦增加了水資源基金,以確保主要城市得到穩定的食水供應。全賴有您,我們才能獲得這些豐碩的保育成果!

地球正迫切需要我們的幫助,若您還未成為智然先鋒,今天就加入我們的行列吧

我們攜手帶來的保育佳績

全賴香港及世界各地的支持者和合作夥伴的支持,大自然保護協會 (TNC) 取得有目共睹的保育佳績:我們在亞洲、澳洲及太平洋島嶼等地區修復森林、恢復棲息地,保護當地社區,並靈活應對氣候變化帶來的挑戰。

位於香港大嶼山
大東山 位於香港大嶼山 © Eric Au-Yeung

資金及財務狀況

我們的營運方式負責任且具高透明度。我們期望您、以及每一位來自香港及全球各地的捐助者都可以透徹了解TNC的運作,並明白我們如何善用大家的捐款。TNC的財務運作具極高透明度,並已得到多個慈善監察組織的高度評價。以下是我們2018年財務簡報表。

資訊圖
關於TNC財務賬戶 資訊圖 © TNC
TESTIMONIAL

獲高度評價的慈善機構

作為一間國際慈善機構,TNC對會員、公眾以至全球所有生物都抱持堅守責任的態度:我們致力令TNC所籌集的一分一毫都用得其所。
一般而言,若慈善機構將66%或以上資金投放在項目工作上,便會得到慈善監察組織的嘉許。而我們已直接投放超過70% 的資金於保育工作上,故TNC持續獲得多個慈善監察組織的高度評價,當中包括:

是香港社會服務聯會的一項計劃,旨在加強香港的慈善機構問責制度和透明度。
Wise Giving 是香港社會服務聯會的一項計劃,旨在加強香港的慈善機構問責制度和透明度。 © Wise Giving
  • 被列入香港社會服務聯會屬下的惠施網;
  • 達到Better Business Bureau Wise Giving Alliance的慈善組織誠信標準,成為該聯盟的認可慈善機構;
  • 符合Direct Marketing Association的籌款及其他非牟利傳訊道德準則。
位於香港
針山 位於香港 © Kin Shing Ip/TNC Photo Contest 2018

我們如何籌集經費

大自然保護協會 (TNC) 在全球各地成功保護超過5,260萬公頃的土地及超過八千公里的河流,豐碩的成果有目共睹。但事實上若沒有你的支持,我們根本無法做成就這麼多,也不能繼續改善地球環境。

跟香港以至世界各地的非牟利機構一樣,TNC透過不同的渠道,邀請大家支持我們保護人類賴以為生的土地及水資源。這些渠道包括宣傳郵件、街頭募捐、特備活動、網頁及社交網絡。

想了解多一點我們籌集經費的渠道或者想知道我們為何選擇這些方式,可以參考以下的常見問題部份。如果你對我們籌集經費方面有任何疑問,歡迎電郵至 hksupporter@tnc.org 或者致電+852 3500 8228查詢。

常見問題

  • 什麼是街頭募捐?這活動有規管嗎?

    當你走在街上的時候,或者曾經遇見過我們的募捐大使正在跟市民傾談關於環保的事,並邀請他們以信用咭或直接轉賬方式進行每月捐款,支持我們的工作。他們都為TNC出力,希望透過宣揚保育行動所面臨的各種挑戰,邀請大家定期捐助本會,為地球出一分力。他們會身穿印有TNC徽章制服,帶着工作證、協會資料以及登記文件,在不同公眾地方如商場、私人活動現場或者店舖出現,向大家宣揚本會的訊息。

    大自然保護協會是街頭月捐聯席的成員。它是一個由慈善機構自發組成具有自我規管守則的組織,致力於提倡香港街頭招募每月捐款者活動的問責性,使公眾在承諾每月捐助機構前,清楚了解自己的知情權。機構成員須接受該組織規則的約束,並遵守街頭月捐招募的實務守則。

  • 為什麼TNC要進行街頭募捐?

    街頭募捐能夠為本會或其他慈善機構帶來重要的支持。在不斷找尋有效的方法去爭取大眾支持的過程中,我們發現街頭募捐是其中一個協助我們達到保育環境目標的最有效方法。

    另外,募捐大使在不同地區募捐的同時,能面對面解答公眾對於TNC的工作、目標、與及大家的支持能怎樣為地球帶來改變等疑問,令公眾進一步認識本會。

  • 募捐大使來自什麼背景?

    不論由我們直接聘請,還是透過中介人招請, 我們的募捐大使全部都經過嚴格訓練,對本會的使命及工作都瞭如指掌。根據募捐人員必需遵循的專業守則,他們在對方要求的情況下,必定會禮貌地結束籌款行動,不會強迫他人作出捐獻,亦絕不會向未能自理或作出正常判斷的人士募捐。

    我們的募捐大使都會身穿印有大自然保護協會徽章的制服,帶着工作證、協會資料以及登記文件,令公眾易於識別。

  • 與募捐大使接觸的過程會是怎樣的呢?

    我們當然希望你能抽出寶貴的時間去跟我們的募捐大使談談。在過程中,你可以透過輕鬆的對話去了解關於TNC的資訊、使命及目標,亦可以進一步了解你個人的支持能夠怎樣為地球環境出一分力。我們的籌款人員亦會邀請你登記成為智然先鋒,以信用咭或直接轉賬方式參與每月捐款。

    為了保障捐款人,我們的募捐大使不會要求亦絕不接受各種現金捐款。如果你對所接觸的募捐大使有任何懷疑,歡迎電郵至 hksupporter@tnc.org 或致電+852 3500 8228與我們聯絡。

    當你決定成為TNC智然先鋒後,我們的募捐大使就會協助你填寫有關捐款表格,而你的個人及財務資料將會被保密儲存。加入本會之後,你將會定期收到有關作為智然先鋒的資訊,讓你詳盡了解捐款所作出之貢獻。

  • 為什麼TNC會發出宣傳郵件呢?

    跟街頭募捐一樣,宣傳郵件亦是一個讓我們招募新捐款人的有效方式,從而幫助我們保護人類賴以為生的土地及水資源,完成TNC的使命。通過郵件,我們可以接觸到不曾從其他途徑認識TNC的人士,讓這些人士考慮捐助我們,加入成為智然先鋒。

    同時,我們亦主張避免浪費紙張,所以任何協會的支持者或有興趣了解我們的朋友,可以致電本會熱線 +852 3500 8228,要求以無紙方式與我們保持聯繫。

    另一方面,我們亦致力使用再造紙或可再造紙,而它們全都經過國際非牟利機構森林管理委員會(FSC)認可,代表所用紙張都是來自以負責任方式營運的森林,並確保這些森林能夠在環境、社會和經濟上造福當地社區。

  • 我怎樣在網上捐款?

    要在網上捐款成為TNC智然先鋒有兩個方法:你可以點擊這裡以信用卡進行電子捐款,或是在這裡列印及填寫捐款表格,然後郵寄或傳真給我們。

TNC大使是大自然保護協會一班特別的代表,他們都非常了解協會,明白我們的工作。大使們肩負以不同方式向公眾宣傳本會的使命,為保護人類賴以為生的土地和水資源出力。

TNC大使們以個人才能及人際網絡去告訴世人一個重要的訊息,就是保護大自然實在萬分重要。環保除了可以保留大自然美麗的一面,還能令我們健康快樂地生活,確保下一代的生計與及促進世界經濟發展。

事實上很多智然先峰,即我們的會員,都是被我們的大使的熱誠所啟發,醒覺到保護地球的重要而加入本會的。現在就加入我們,為大自然出一分力。

立刻行動

加入我們,給香港以至全世界為大自然貢獻一份力。