A sea turtle swims underwater.
Hawksbill A critically endangered hawksbill turtle surfaces for a breath of air. © Christophe Mason-Parker/TNC Photo Contest 2018

The Nature Conservancy | Our Priorities

Endangered Wildlife in Asia Pacific

Nature is all around us. If we want to survive and thrive, we must commit to co-exist with all the species on Earth. Of all the plants and animals with whom we share the planet, only we have the power to choose the path our collective futures will take.

Biodiversity underpins every aspect of life on our planet—but it's currently declining at an unprecedented rate. And up to one million known species could disappear by 2050.

This is why The Nature Conservancy (TNC) is using targeted, collaborative conservation efforts of lands and oceans to save many important and iconic species in the region at a scale that matters. Whether it’s an orangutan, a sea turtle or a snow leopard, our strategies increasingly protect Asia Pacific wildlife while respecting the needs of the people who call the region home.

Nature is all around us. If we want to survive and thrive, we must commit to co-exist with all the species on Earth.
There are fewer than 2,000 Yunnan golden (snub-nosed) monkeys (Rhinopithecus bieti) left in Yunnan's old-growth alpine forests.
Yunnan golden monkey There are fewer than 2,000 Yunnan golden (snub-nosed) monkeys (Rhinopithecus bieti) left in Yunnan's old-growth alpine forests. © Long Yongcheng/TNC

Yunnan Golden Monkey - Rhinopithecus bieti
Status: Endangered

The Yunnan golden (or snub-nosed) monkey’s namesake feature comes from the absence of nasal bones—an evolutionary peculiarity of unknown origin. These primates inhabit a sliver of high-altitude, coniferous forest in the Yunling Mountains of southwest China. Here, they amass in bands as large as 300 individuals to forage for their favorite food: lichens. Smaller family groups typically consist of one male with several females and their young. But habitat loss and illegal hunting have strained this species already struggling to survive in isolated and fragmented populations.

TNC is working with partners and local communities to protect Yunnan golden monkeys by: tracking the monkeys’ movements, protecting monkeys’ homes, restoring forest habitat and educating communities.

A critically endangered hawksbill turtle surfaces for a breath of air.
Hawksbill A critically endangered hawksbill turtle surfaces for a breath of air. © Christophe Mason-Parker/TNC Photo Contest 2018

Hawksbill Turtle - Eretmochelys imbricata
Status: Critically Endangered

The life of a hawksbill sea turtle is one of long odds and improbable journeys. Measuring about three feet in diameter, with a mottled, amber-hued shell, hawksbills take decades to reach reproductive age. Often they migrate well over 1,000 miles — from coral reef foraging grounds, through expanses of open ocean and finally, to the beaches where they once hatched and return to nest, every two to seven years. Very few hatchlings will survive to make this journey on their own. And those that do face many human threats from poaching to fishing vessels capturing them as bycatch.

In the Solomon Islands, home to the South Pacific’s largest hawksbill rookery, TNC helped establish the country’s first national park where 25 years of conservation efforts have increased the number of turtle nests by 200 percent.

A pangolin uses its long tongue to lick up termites.
Chinese Pangolin A pangolin uses its long tongue to lick up termites. © Suzi Ezsterhas/Wild Wonders China

Chinese Pangolin - Manis pentadactyla
Status: Critically Endangered

Pangolins are known as the guardians of the forest because they protect forests from termite destruction, maintaining a balanced ecosystem. They have survived thousands of years of natural changes, but now they are on the verge of extinction due to habitat loss and illegal poaching. More than 1 million pangolins were brutally murdered for black-market trade in the past 10 years; that is 11 pangolins every hour. Many Asian cultures incorrectly believe pangolin scales have medicinal and magical properties, causing a huge demand on the black market. Pangolins are the world’s only scaly mammals.

TNC is working with local and international partners to raise public awareness on saving pangolins and fighting against their illegal trade.

The largest of all the world’s shorebirds, the Eastern Curlew’s impressive bill is used to probe mud and dig up crabs and molluscs.
Eastern Curlew The largest of all the world’s shorebirds, the Eastern Curlew’s impressive bill is used to probe mud and dig up crabs and molluscs. © Martin Hale

Eastern Curlew - Numenius madagascariensis
Status: Endangered

The largest of all the world’s shorebirds, the Eastern Curlew’s impressive bill is used to probe mud and dig up crabs and molluscs which is their main food source in Australia. Sadly, they’re endangered and have declined by more than 80 percent in the past 50 years. The Eastern Curlew takes an annual migratory flight to Russia and north-eastern China to breed, arriving back home to Australia to fatten up before the long journey up north again to breed.

The Eastern Curlew is declining as a result of habitat destruction and alteration to the chain of coastal wetlands along their migratory path. The loss of even small areas of wetland can be devastating, which is why TNC is protecting and restoring wetlands in Australia and around the world.

Subscribe to our email updates

Get timely conservation news to get involved and make a difference.

Subscribe Now
Asian Elephants in Myanmar are essential for low-impact, sustainable logging.
Asian Elephant Asian Elephants in Myanmar are essential for low-impact, sustainable logging. © Justine Hausheer/TNC

Asian Elephant - Elephas maximus
Status: Endangered

For centuries, the timber industry in Myanmar (formerly Burma) has relied on Asian domesticated elephants for hauling teak and other valuable hardwood from forest to market. These animals represent one of the world’s best reduced-impact logging strategies, limiting the need for extensive logging roads, bulldozers or mechanized tools. And despite their vigorous labor, Myanmar timber elephants live twice as long as zoo elephants and are extraordinarily well-cared for: Each animal is given a mahout, or caretaker, who is devoted to the health and well-being of the elephant for its entire life. However, Myanmar’s elephants—both domesticated and wild—face myriad threats to their survival, such as shrinking habitat, poaching and the threat of being sold into the tourism industry in neighboring Thailand.

TNC is working to improve animal welfare for timber elephants, protect forest habitat, provide needed alternative livelihoods for communities through ecotourism and promote research on timber elephants’ contribution to a unique, low-carbon pathway for Myanmar.

Orangutans rely on healthy forests for their survival.
Bornean Orangutan Orangutans rely on healthy forests for their survival. © Katie Hawk/TNC

Bornean Orangutan - Pongo pygmaeus
Status: Critically Endangered

Orangutans are among the rarest primates on Earth. Faced with deforestation, poaching, the illegal pet trade and forest fires, orangutan populations have reached a critical point. Since 1960, their populations have declined by 50 percent. Orangutans help forest health by acting as the world’s largest seed dispersers. Because they cover large areas as they forage for food, fragmented habitat is an additional risk. They spend most of their time in trees. That’s where they thrive.

TNC has a holistic approach to forest conservation in Indonesia including working with the local communities who live in forests, and we partner with government and industry to change policies and practices to protect the third-largest tropical rainforest on the planet. 

Snow leopards are so difficult to track that TNC and partners use camera traps.
Snow Leopard Snow leopards are so difficult to track that TNC and partners use camera traps. © Eric Kilby

Snow Leopard - Panthera uncia
Status: Vulnerable

Snow leopards are one of Asia’s most iconic species — and also one of the most elusive. These beautiful, secretive big cats inhabit a broad expanse of the continent’s high-altitude environments, but only number between 4,000 to 6,500 — a 20 percent decline in the past two decades, primarily due to human-wildlife conflict and habitat loss. Mongolia is a snow leopard stronghold, home to as much as one quarter of the global population.

With a decade of experience in Mongolia, TNC is working with herders to strengthen local grassland and grazing management. As grazing improves, we can reduce direct conflict between snow leopards and herders, as well as improve habitat for wild prey species that are important to snow leopards.

Yellow-eyed penguins are so shy that birders must hide in blinds to get a glimpse of them.
Yellow-Eyed Penguin Yellow-eyed penguins are so shy that birders must hide in blinds to get a glimpse of them. © Bernard Spragg

Yellow-Eyed Penguin - Megadyptes antipodes
Status: Endangered

In Aotearoa New Zealand, lives the world’s rarest penguin species, the yellow-eyed penguin. Yellow-eyed penguins have suffered a dramatic decline in population, with an estimated 2,000 alive today. By comparison, they numbered about 6,000 only a decade ago. The reason why is a mix of human interference and an insidious disease. With a rising global demand for New Zealand’s dairy, cattle and sheep have driven the destruction of the penguin’s habitat to make way for agriculture and pastures.

We’re collaborating with industry, local conservation groups and government ministries to find much-needed solutions to protect terrestrial and marine habitats upon which penguins and other wonderful species depend.

在夕陽下游上水面呼吸
玳瑁海龜 在夕陽下游上水面呼吸 © Christophe Mason-Parker/TNC Photo Contest 2018

大自然保護協會 | 我們的首要任務

亞太地區的瀕危野生動物

大自然無處不在。我們若要生存和繁榮發展,必須與地球上一切生物共存。跟我們一同分享地球資源的所有植物及動物中,唯有我們擁有選擇的權力,可以左右大家的共同未來。

生物多樣性支撐著地球上所有人生活的每一層面,但它正在以前所未有的幅度下降。多達一百萬種生物更可能在2050年之前消失。

因此,大自然保護協會 (TNC) 正竭力透過針對性、共同努力的保育行動,有規模地拯救區內一些重要及具標誌性的物種。不論是猩猩、海龜還是雪豹,我們的工作策略是加強保護這些亞太地區的野生動物,同時尊重當地居民的需要。

大自然無處不在。 我們若要生存和繁榮發展,必須與地球上一切生物共存。
又名仰鼻猴 (因其缺乏鼻骨的進化特點而得名),生長在中國西南雲嶺山區中高海拔的針葉林。
滇金絲猴 又名仰鼻猴 (因其缺乏鼻骨的進化特點而得名),生長在中國西南雲嶺山區中高海拔的針葉林。 © Long Yongcheng/TNC

滇金絲猴
學名:Rhinopithecus bieti
狀況: 瀕危

滇金絲猴,又名仰鼻猴 (因其缺乏鼻骨的進化特點而得名),生長在中國西南雲嶺山區中高海拔的針葉林。在這裡,牠們以往會聚居在一起覓食最愛的地衣,數量有時多達三百隻。而較細的家庭群組則通常由一隻雄性和數隻雌性猴子,以及一些小猴組成。可是棲息地的減少和非法捕獵,令到這些現時已散居或單獨掙扎求存的金絲猴狀況愈趨緊張。

TNC 和夥伴及當地社區正攜手保護滇金絲猴,包括:監察這些猴子的動態,保護其家園,修復森林棲息地以及進行社區保育教育等。

在夕陽下游上水面呼吸
玳瑁海龜 在夕陽下游上水面呼吸 © Christophe Mason-Parker/TNC Photo Contest 2018

玳瑁海龜
學名:Eretmochelys imbricata
狀況: 極度瀕危

玳瑁海龜的生命可說是一個極少機會成功,甚至不可能的冒險旅程。直徑大約三呎,有著琥珀色斑紋的外殼,玳瑁海龜要幾十年才生長到生殖年齡。牠們每隔二至七年,就會遷徙逾1,000英里,從其覓食的珊瑚礁游出壯濶的海洋,遠赴牠們曾經孵化出來的海灘挖巢穴孵蛋。很少剛孵化出來的小海龜可以完成旅程生存下來,牠們要面對種種人為威脅,例如偷獵或被漁船意外捕撈。

在所羅門群島,即南太平洋最大的玳瑁海龜棲息處, TNC 協助建立當地首個國家公園,而我們25 年來的保育工作,已使海龜巢穴的數量增加百分之二百。

TNC 正在跟一些當地及國際夥伴一起,提高保護穿山甲的公眾意識,並竭力打擊非法買賣活動。
中華穿山甲 TNC 正在跟一些當地及國際夥伴一起,提高保護穿山甲的公眾意識,並竭力打擊非法買賣活動。 © Suzi Ezsterhas/Wild Wonders China


中華穿山甲
學名:Manis pentadactyla
狀況: 極度瀕危

穿山甲被喻為森林的守護者,因為牠們保護林木免被白蟻侵蝕,維持生態平衡。牠們經歷數千年的自然變遷,但現時卻因為喪失棲息地和非法捕獵而處於絶種的邊緣。過去十年,超過一百萬隻穿山甲在黑市買賣中被屠殺,即是每小時11隻。在很多亞洲國家的文化中,人們錯誤地相信穿山甲的鱗有藥用價值,其至具神奇功效,以至在黑市中需求甚殷。穿山甲是世上唯一有鱗片的哺乳類動物。

TNC 正在跟一些當地及國際夥伴一起,提高保護穿山甲的公眾意識,並竭力打擊非法買賣活動。

牠們用其長嘴在泥沼中啄食小蟹和其他軟體動物。
大杓鷸 牠們用其長嘴在泥沼中啄食小蟹和其他軟體動物。 © Martin Hale

大杓鷸
學名:Numenius madagascariensis
狀況: 瀕危

大杓鷸是世界上最大的海鳥。在澳洲,牠們用其長嘴在泥沼中啄食小蟹和其他軟體動物。很可惜,牠們的數量在過去50年間銳減了百分之八十,成為瀕危的物種。 大杓鷸每年均千里迢迢飛住俄羅斯和中國東北地區繁殖,然後折返澳洲長肥自己,準備又踏上下一個長途旅程。

由於棲息地的破壞以及其遷徙路線上濕地的交替,大杓鷸的數量不斷下降。即使失去一片細小的濕地也可能有毀滅性的影響。正因為此,TNC在澳洲和世界各地,均致力保護及修復大大小小的濕地。

訂閱TNC電子郵件

接收最新電子保育資訊,和TNC攜手並肩,在香港。

訂閱TNC電子郵件
亞洲象在緬甸的低影響性或可持續伐木業中,是必不可缺的。
亞洲象 亞洲象在緬甸的低影響性或可持續伐木業中,是必不可缺的。 © Justine Hausheer/TNC

亞洲象
學名:Elephas maximus
狀況: 瀕危

數百年來,緬甸的伐木業都一直依靠飼養的大象,來把柚木及其他貴重的木材,從森林拖運到市場買賣。這些大象代表著全世界最不影響周邊社區的伐木方式,可減少對開闢運輸道路、推土機以及機械化的需求。 儘管牠們辛勤工作,緬甸伐木大象的壽命卻比動物園裡飼養的大象還要長一倍,兼且得到妥善的照料。 每隻大象都有一名照顧者mahout負責牠一生的健康和福祉。然而,不論是野生還是飼養的大象,牠們都面臨無數威脅,包括棲息地範圍縮小,非法捕獵以及被販賣到鄰國泰國的旅遊區等。 

TNC正著手改善伐木大象的動物福利,保護森林棲息地,並通過生態旅遊為社區創造另類生計機會,同時促進研究伐木大象對緬甸這獨特低碳發展的貢獻。

猩猩的生存要依賴健康的森林。
婆羅洲猩猩 猩猩的生存要依賴健康的森林。 © Katie Hawk/TNC

婆羅洲猩猩
學名:Pongo pygmaeus
狀況: 極度瀕危

猩猩是地球上最罕有的哺乳類動物之一。面對森林砍伐、非法捕獵和買賣,以及森林大火等,猩猩的數量已跌至危險的水平。自1960年,其數量已下跌了一半。作為世界上最大的種子散播者,猩猩對保持森林的健康很有幫助。牠們為了覓食,會去到很遠的地方,但散居也會構成一定的風險。牠們大部分時間都在樹上活動,固此樹木對牠們的繁衍很重要。

TNC 在印尼的森林保育工作採取一個整全的方案,包括和居住在森林的當地社區合作,也跟政府及業界一起改變政策和一貫做法,以保護這地球上第三大的熱帶雨林。

雪豹是一種非常難跟蹤的動物,TNC 和夥伴們要運用特別攝影技術去追蹤其身影。
雪豹 雪豹是一種非常難跟蹤的動物,TNC 和夥伴們要運用特別攝影技術去追蹤其身影。 © Eric Kilby

雪豹
學名:Panthera uncia
狀況: 易危

雪豹是亞洲其中一種最具代表性的物種,也是最難以觸摸的野生動物之一。這些美麗又神秘的貓科動物居住在幅員廣大的高海拔地區,但其數量只有4,000 至 6,500隻左右,較廿年前減少了百分之二十,主要是因為失去棲息地以及跟人類的衝突。蒙古是雪豹的主要根據地,是全球四分之一雪豹的家園。

TNC 憑藉十年來在蒙古的工作經驗,和當地牧民一起改善草原環境以及放牧管理。這樣便能夠減少牧民與雪豹直接衝突,也可以改善其他物種的棲息地,部分便是雪豹的重要獵物。

是很害羞的,觀鳥人士要躲在簾後窺探牠們的真面目
黃眼企鵝 是很害羞的,觀鳥人士要躲在簾後窺探牠們的真面目 © Bernard Spragg

黃眼企鵝
學名:Megadyptes antipodes
狀況: 瀕危

在新西蘭,世界上最罕有的黃眼企鵝數量急劇下跌,現在只剩得大約2,000隻存活。相對於十年前,牠們的數量大概是 6,000 隻。歸根究底是人為干擾和潛伏的疾病所致。由於全球對新西蘭奶類產品的需求增加,飼養牛羊驅使企鵝棲息地被破壞,為發展牧場和草地讓路。

我們現正和有關業界、當地保育組織以及政府部門一起協力尋求急需的解決方案,保護企鵝和其他野生動物賴以為生的地上和海洋棲息處。