in Hauraki Gulf, New Zealand.
Rangitoto Island in Hauraki Gulf, New Zealand. © Sids1 Flickr Creative Commons

The Nature Conservancy | Our Priorities

The Future of Freshwater in New Zealand

Freshwater forms a core part of New Zealand’s national identity and 100% Pure image that drives exports and a multi-billion-dollar tourism industry. Indeed, the importance of abundant, clean water predates European settlement: Māori tribal identity is strongly linked to freshwater, with each water body having its own mauri (life force). But New Zealand’s freshwater resources are under significant strain. Runoff from the growing agricultural and dairy sectors has fouled waterways across the country—so much so that swimming is no longer advised in 60 percent of all government-monitored rivers and lakes.

Over the next four years, TNC’s New Zealand program (one of the organization’s newest country programs) will produce an investment blueprint that can help the government improve water quality in 90 percent of its rivers and lakes by 2040. This plan will be informed by our extensive experience in water investments around the world, as well as our engagement with Iwi (Māori tribes), industry stakeholders and local communities in New Zealand.

By 2022, our goal is to have measurable reductions in the intensity of freshwater use and in the contamination in priority catchments in New Zealand. We will achieve this by developing and applying sustainable, financing model blueprints for improving water management in national priority catchments and by demonstrating and advocating for a unified, whole government approach to water management in New Zealand.

位於新西蘭豪拉基灣
朗伊托托島(Rangitoto Island) 位於新西蘭豪拉基灣 © Sids1 Flickr Creative Commons

淡水是新西蘭的重要資源,其百份百純淨的形象推動出口和數十億元的收入的旅遊業。事實上,在歐洲人定居前,豐富而潔淨的水源是當地重要的資源:毛利人的部落身份與淡水有密切的關係,他們認為每一個水體都擁有自己的mauri(生命力)。 然而,新西蘭的淡水資源正面臨極大威脅。在農業和乳製品業不斷增長下,排出的廢水污染了全國各地的水道,導致60%受政府監測的河流和湖泊都不再適合游泳。

未來四年,TNC的新西蘭計劃(組織其中一個最新的國家計劃)將會制訂一份投資藍圖,以協助政府在2040年或之前達致改善90%河流和湖泊水質的目標。我們會利用世界各地廣泛的水投資經驗,以及與新西蘭Iwi(毛利部落)、行業持份者和當地社區的密切合作,來為這項計劃提供指導。

計劃的目標是在 2022 年前顯著地減低新西蘭淡水的使用量和改善優先集水區的污染情況。我們將透過制訂和應用可持續融資模式的藍圖,改善新西蘭優先集水區的水資源管理,並透過展示及倡議涉及整個政府的一致水源管理方法來實現這個目標。