just off of Lembongan Island, Indonesia.
Seaweed farms just off of Lembongan Island, Indonesia. © Kevin Arnold

Hong Kongers eat a lot of seafood, three times the global average, a rate that is not sustainable. To ensure we have seafood in the future, aquaculture—the practice of growing food in the water—may hold the key.

From seaweed cultivation to fish farming, aquaculture, when practiced in a sustainable manner, can feed millions of people, support national economies and protect coastal ecosystems. But in many parts of Asia Pacific, this industry does more harm to nature than good. That’s why we’re working in three different markets (Indonesia, New Zealand and the Pacific Islands) to introduce better techniques for growing food in the marine environment.

Asia Pacific is at the heart of TNC’s global aquaculture program and is home to 90 percent of the global aquaculture industry. We are partnering with multiple stakeholders—such as government, tribal groups, farmers and communities—to tangibly demonstrate how aquaculture can feed a booming population, provide economic opportunity and preserve the region’s incredible biodiversity.

TNC is working on aquaculture in these countries:

  • Indonesia: By teaching farmers more sustainable farming techniques, we are helping to reduce the negative ecological impacts of seaweed farming while also strengthening economic stability.
  • Micronesia: TNC is helping sustainably cultivate rabbitfish (a popular local species that has been successfully farmed elsewhere in the Pacific) and explore how to replicate and scale fish farms elsewhere in the country.
  • New Zealand: TNC is working with Indigenous Iwi to develop green-lipped mussel aquaculture to support remote and impoverished communities.

位於印尼倫邦岸島外
海藻養殖場 位於印尼倫邦岸島外 © Kevin Arnold

香港人進食海鮮的數量是全球平均值的三倍,這是一個不符合可持續標準的份量。為了確保我們將來仍然有海鮮食用,水產養殖 (即在水中養殖食物) 便可能起著關鍵的作用。

水產養殖包括種植海藻和養魚,當以可持續的方式實施時,便能為數百萬人提供海產食物,支持國家經濟,並保護沿海的生態系統。但在亞太區很多地方,水產養殖為大自然帶來的損害遠比好處多。因此,我們正於三個不同的市場 (印尼、新西蘭和太平洋島嶼) 引入更好的海洋養殖糧食技術。

亞太區是TNC推行全球水產養殖計劃的核心地點,同時亦是全球90%水產養殖業的集中地。我們與政府、部落群、農夫和社區等不同持份者合作,實質地示範水產養殖如何為持續上升的人口提供糧食,創造經濟發展機會,以及保護該區重要的生物多樣性。

TNC 正於以下國家推行水產養殖:

  • 印尼:TNC透過與農夫合作,一方面減少海藻種植對生態帶來的負面影響,另一方面以更好的養殖技術來穩定當地經濟。
  • 密克羅尼西亞:TNC正協助可持續地養殖泥猛(一種成功在太平洋其他地方養殖的當地物種),並研究如何在該國其他地方複製和擴大養魚場。
  • 新西蘭:TNC 正與原居民 Iwi 合作發展綠唇青口養殖,以支援偏遠和貧困的社區。