near Chishui city, China.
A waterfall near Chishui city, China. © Kevin Arnold

How to Help

Live Green

Eight Easy Ways to Reduce Your Water Consumption

The average person in Hong Kong consumes 130 liters of fresh water each day, making Hong Kong people some of the highest urban consumers of water in the world. If we continue to use water at the same rate, supplies will dwindle, and we might have to live on less than 100 liters of water per day by 2050. Hong Kong’s supply from the Dongjiang River Basin is limited and expensive, factors that will only worsen if we don’t act fast to reduce our consumption.

Traditional suggestions for saving water include taking shorter showers and turning off the tap when brushing your teeth. But there are many other ways you can reduce your water use to sustainable levels, benefitting people and nature in Hong Kong and around the world. Here are eight easy tips to reduce your water footprint:

SAVE 7 LITERS – Don’t buy disposable water bottles: It takes at least twice as much water to produce each bottle as the amount of water it contains. Bring a reusable bottle and refill it to save seven liters each time. You’ll save money too!

 

SAVE 10 LITERS – Buy print wisely. It takes 10 liters of water to produce just one piece of paper!

 

SAVE 60-160 LITERS – Washing machines use more than 56 liters of water per load. Group your loads efficiently for maximum energy and water savings.

 

SAVE 200 LITERS – Eat your leftovers. 70 percent of the world’s available fresh water goes into agriculture. A simple cheese sandwich takes about 211 liters of water to produce. Save food for another meal or send it home with guests to avoid wasting the water that went into producing it.

 

SAVE 1,500 LITERS – Buy a vintage t-shirt or swap with a friend instead of buying a brand new one: You’ll look cool saving the 1,500 liters of water that would’ve been used to produce a new shirt.

 

SAVE 2,400 LITERS – Go meatless once a week: It takes 2,400 liters to produce just one hamburger — that’s the amount of water used by the average person in Hong Kong over 18 days.

 

SAVE 3,500 LITERS – Don’t pour leftover cooking oil down the drain — just one liter of oil can pollute 250,000 liters of fresh water (that is 3,500 liters fresh water for every tablespoon of oil) when waste water is returned to the environment, ruining the supply that communities and wildlife depend on.

 

ONE STEP FURTHER – Plant a tree yourself or through a donation to TNC. Forests and grasslands keep soil and pollutants from running into water sources and dirtying them, especially in urban areas. Clean water in nature makes for healthier global communities.

Fighting Air Pollution in Hong Kong

Pollution kills more people each year than all the world’s war and violence combined, according to a study in The Lancet Medical Journal. In Hong Kong, we are facing two air pollution headaches – local street-level pollution caused by diesel vehicles, and a regional smog problem from motor vehicle, marine vessel, industry and power plant emissions here and across the Pearl River Delta region.

High levels of air pollution pose serious health risks, especially since millions of people in Hong Kong live and work near busy roads. If you’ve been outside on a particularly bad day, you’ve experienced the effect it can have on your lungs and brain. Research by the University of Hong Kong found that air pollution causes at least 1,500 premature deaths in Hong Kong every year. Declining air quality raises public health costs and drives away talent and economic development opportunities, hindering the city’s global stature.

We are all in this fight together. So how can you make sure that we have clean air to breathe in Hong Kong?

Choose a green commute

Hong Kong has the world’s highest traffic density, a mass of idling cars emitting exhaust that contributes to the unhealthy quality of our air. Fortunately, Hong Kong also has one of the world’s most efficient public transportation systems. Getting around the city using buses, mini-buses, ferries and railways are just as convenient and time-effective as driving your own car. Starting today, reduce the number of trips you take in your car and we’ll be one step closer to breathing in cleaner air.

 

Choose environmental-friendly vehicles

If you have to drive, there are greener ways to use your own car. Join the more than 10,000 Electric Vehicles (EV) in the city instead of driving a diesel-powered car. There are a growing number of EV models being launched by major car producers, and they are just as fast and sleek as their gasoline-powered counterparts. Why not look cool and drive green at the same time?

 

Save energy

It may not seem obvious, but using energy-efficient appliances and turning off lights will help reduce air pollution. The act of generating energy itself is a big contributor to carbon emissions in the air. The Hong Kong government aims to increase the use of natural gas to 50 percent by 2020, but we still rely heavily on imported coal for generating electricity. Reduce your energy use – turn off appliances when not in use and look for the ENERGY STAR label when buying new home or office equipment.

 

Plant healthy air with us

Take a nature-based step to address pollution – by planting more trees. The Nature Conservancy (TNC) scientists found that an annual global investment of HK$11 per person in planting urban trees could provide 68 million people with measurable reductions in particulate matter pollution. Trees are one of the most cost-effective investments in tackling air pollution. They also absorb a variety of air pollutants like ozone and nitrogen oxides, reducing the ambient concentrations that we breathe. Globally, TNC has planted 23 million trees. 

We could have a future of fresh and clean air in Hong Kong and beyond, but not without your support. Donate today: your monthly gift of HK$500 could help to plant 500 trees – enough to generate clean air for 2,000 people for an entire year.

Six Ways to Fight Climate Change

Climate change is a central issue for the entire planet, and Hong Kong is no exception – the city experiences more frequent heavy rain than before, and the sea level in Victoria Harbor is rising. Hong Kong has pledged to reduce carbon emissions by 26-36 percent by 2030 compared to 2005 base levels, and is pursuing a variety of climate change initiatives, including phasing out coal and increasing buildings’ energy efficiency.

Reducing the causes and effects of our planet’s warming is also one of The Nature Conservancy’s (TNC)’s priorities, but organizations and governments won’t solve the problem on their own. That’s where individuals like you come in. The food you eat, appliances you use and the way you commute and spend your holidays all have an impact on the planet, so changing your behavior can make a big difference. Here are a few tips for fighting climate change in your everyday life:

擁有超過550種植物,樹木和灌木,是鳥類和其他野生動物的重要棲息地。
曼克頓崔恩堡公園 擁有超過550種植物,樹木和灌木,是鳥類和其他野生動物的重要棲息地。 © Diane Cook & Len Jenshel

位於中國赤水市
瀑布 位於中國赤水市 © Kevin Arnold

一起行動

活出綠色生活

減低生活耗水量的八個簡單方法

香港人每日平均耗用 130 公升食水,是全球人均耗水量最高的城市之一。按照我們現時的耗水量推算,食水很快便會供不應求,到了 2050 年每人每日可能只剩下不足100公升的食水可以使用。香港食水來自東江流域,供水量有限,而且價格昂貴,如果我們不改善現況,減少用水量,情況只會繼續惡化。

傳統的節約用水方法包括縮短淋浴時間,以及刷牙時關上水喉。但除此以外,還有其他方法可把耗水量減低至可持續水平,讓香港以至全球的人類及自然生態受惠。以下是八個有助減低水足印的簡單方法:

 

節省 7 公升:停止購買即棄水樽。製造一個水樽過程所耗用的水,是其容量本身的兩倍。攜帶可重覆使用的水樽,每次填滿可節省 7 公升食水,更可為您節省金錢。

 

節省 10 公升:要精明地選購印刷品。單單製造一張紙就要耗用十公升水。

 

節省 60-160 公升:洗衣機每次洗濯衣服耗用超過 56 公升食水。妥善把衣物儲起再一併放進洗衣機,以盡量提高能源效益及節省食水。

 

節省 200 公升:珍惜剩下的食物,全球七成可供使用的新鮮食水用於農業,製作一件簡單的芝士三文治就已耗用 211 公升食水。把吃剩的的食物留待下一餐食用或讓客人帶回家,以免浪費製作過程中耗用的食水。

 

節省 1,500 公升:選購二手 T恤或與朋友交換,代替購買全新的衣服:能成功節省原本用以製造一件全新襯衫的 1,500 公升食水,您看起來將更有型有款。

 

節省 2,400 公升:一星期茹素一次。製作一個漢堡包就需要用上 2,400 公升食水,而這是香港人 18 天的人均耗水量。

 

節省 3,500 公升:不要把剩餘的煮食油倒入排水口。當污水流回大自然,只需一公升的油就能污染 250,000 公升新鮮食水。換言之,每湯匙食油就能污染 3,500 公升食水,嚴重破壞社區及野生生物賴以為生的水源。

 

節省更多:自發或透過捐款給大自然保護協會(TNC)種植樹木。森林及草原能阻止泥土及污染物流入並沾污水源,特別在市區。大自然的潔淨水源能為地球創造更健康的社區。

對抗香港空氣污染

醫學雜誌《刺針》的一項研究指出,每年因污染而死亡的人,多於世界各地所有因戰爭及暴力而死亡人數的總和。在香港,我們正面對兩大令人頭痛的空氣污染問題——由柴油車輛帶來的市區街道廢氣,以及於本地及珠江三角洲一帶內由汽車、船舶、工廠及發電廠排放引發的區域性霧霾。

嚴重的空氣污染危害健康,尤其是數以百萬計的香港市民都在繁忙的道路附近居住和工作。若您曾在空氣極差的日子外出,一定有親身感受過它對肺部和大腦的影響。一項由香港大學進行的研究發現,香港的空氣污染每年令至少1,500人早死。空氣質素每況愈下令公共醫療成本上漲,人才卻步,削弱經濟發展機會,阻礙本港的國際地位。

 

我們必須一同對抗空氣污染問題。那麼,如何才能確保香港人得以呼吸清新空氣?

選擇綠色交通工具

香港的車流密度是全球之冠,車輛停止時排放大量廢氣,嚴重影響空氣質素。可幸的是,香港同時擁有全球其中一個最高效率的公共交通運輸系統,乘搭巴士、小巴、渡輪及鐵路穿梭各區,就如自駕車輛一樣方便省時。從今天開始,減少駕車次數,向呼吸清新空氣的目標向前邁進一步。

選用環保車輛

若您必需駕車,則可以選擇較環保的駕駛方式,加入成為香港逾萬架電動汽車中的一員,避免選用柴油汽車。主要汽車生產商推出愈來愈多不同型號的電動汽車,它們的性能與速度相比汽油車輛不遑多讓。駕駛電動車既有型,又環保,何樂而不為?

節省能源

雖然看似不明顯,但採用節能電器及緊記關燈,的確有助紓緩空氣污染問題。發電過程本身就是導致空氣中碳排放增加的一大元兇,雖然香港政府目標在 2020 年前增加天然氣使用率至五成,但我們仍然非常依賴進口煤來發電。節約能源,關掉沒有使用的電器、購買附有「能源標籤」的家居或辦公室器材。

加入我們,種植清新空氣

種植更多樹木,以自然方法對抗污染問題。TNC 科學家發現,全球每人只要每年投資港幣 $11在城市種植樹木,即能令6,800萬人顯著減少吸入懸浮粒子。因此,要對抗空氣污染,種植樹木是其中一種最具成本效益的投資。樹木同時亦可吸收空氣中的多種污染物,如臭氧、氮氧化物等,並減低環境空氣中的污染物濃度。TNC 已於全球各地種植 2,300 萬棵樹木,請參閱我們的種植清新空氣報告以了解更多。

得到您的支持,我們在未來將可享有清新和潔淨的空氣,以至更進一步。請即捐款:每月只需捐出港幣 $500,即可協助種植 500 棵樹——數量足以為 2,000 人提供全年所需的清新空氣。

對抗氣候變化的六種方法

氣候變化是全球共同面對的核心議題,香港亦不例外 —— 香港的暴雨次數比以往頻密,維多利亞港的水位亦持續上升。香港已承諾在 2030 年前將碳排放量降低 26-36%(相較於 2005 年的水平),並正在推行一系列對抗氣候變化的措施,包括逐漸停用煤及提高建築物的能源效益。

減低導致全球暖化的因素及所帶來的影響也是 TNC 的首要工作之一,但我們不能單單依靠團體和政府來解決問題,更需要的是從個人做起。您選擇的食物、使用的電器,交通以至旅行方式等,都影響著整個地球。因此,改變您的生活習慣足以帶來重大的改變。以下的小貼士,助您從日常生活著手對抗氣候變化:

擁有超過550種植物,樹木和灌木,是鳥類和其他野生動物的重要棲息地。
曼克頓崔恩堡公園 擁有超過550種植物,樹木和灌木,是鳥類和其他野生動物的重要棲息地。 © Diane Cook & Len Jenshel