in Australia.
Murray-Darling Basin in Australia. © Andrew Peacock/Tandem Stills + Motion

The Nature Conservancy | Our Priorities

Investing in Water Security: Water Funds

More than 70 percent of the water we take from nature is used for agriculture, producing the food and other goods we all need. But this comes at a cost to the natural world, which needs its own share of water. With additional threats from development and pollution, watersheds need our help. At The Nature Conservancy (TNC), we know that protecting nature goes hand in hand with supporting community health and economic opportunity, and that we can accomplish all three with the right strategies. We have facilitated the establishment and operation of more than 30 water funds around the world, to provide clean water for people and nature from Ecuador to Kenya.

Water funds are a promising solution:

In Australia, TNC launched the Murray-Darling Basin Balanced Water Fund in 2016. The Murray-Darling Basin accounts for HK$148 billion of agricultural output and provides one third of Australia’s food supply, while serving as a home to 51 endangered species.

In China, TNC established its first water fund in the country in the Longwu Reservoir, Zhejiang province, engaging more than 4,000 farmers to keep fertilizer runoff out of water sources through financial incentives. We are looking to replicate this model on the Dongjiang River, which supplies drinking water for 40 million residents of Hong Kong, Guangzhou, Shenzhen and other urban areas.

What is a water fund?

A water fund is an innovative way to finance watershed conservation, first pioneered by TNC in Quito, Ecuador. In most of the water funds we’ve established, water users in major cities (such as water utilities, power companies, beer and soda factories and the general public) pay small fees for their water usage that collectively generate enough revenue to finance watershed conservation upstream. The water consumers are effectively investing in the health of the rivers and lakes that their water comes from, so that they can be sure the water they use is clean and in abundant supply.

Upstream:

The communities who live upstream in those watersheds receive funding to protect those water sources in a variety of ways: from compensating cattle ranchers who keep their livestock away from fresh water sources, to financing community reforestation efforts, water funds generate the resources necessary to keep watersheds healthy and intact now and in the future. As an added bonus, much of the money that would otherwise be spent on expensive water treatment processes to make it safe for human consumption can be saved.

Downstream:

People and companies downstream benefit by having clean and abundant water; people and communities upstream benefit by receiving compensation for caring for the watersheds where they live; wildlife benefits by having healthy natural habitats to sustain them; and forests and grasslands can continue to thrive and serve their ecological functions of cleaning groundwater, providing wildlife habitat, and capturing and storing carbon.

位於澳洲
墨累大令盆地 位於澳洲 © Andrew Peacock/Tandem Stills + Motion

大自然保護協會 | 我們的首要任務

投資保護水資源 – 水資源基金

我們從大自然攝取的水資源,超過七成用於農業活動,以生產食物及其他必需品,但卻忽略了大自然本身的水資源需要。此外,水資源更備受人類社會發展及污染活動威脅,令流域保護工作更加刻不容緩。大自然保護協會(TNC)明白環境保護、社會健康及經濟機會三方面需要互相配合,只要找到適當的策略,便能達至三贏。我們已成功於全球建立及營運逾30個水資源基金,為厄瓜多爾以至肯亞等國家的居民及大自然提供清潔的水資源。

水資源基金是一項可行的解決方案:

澳洲:2016年,TNC在澳洲推行墨累大令盆地水資源平衡基金。 墨累大令盆地能帶來港幣$1,480億的農業產量,佔澳洲食物供應三分之一,同時為51個瀕危物種提供棲息地。  

中國:TNC於中國浙江省龍塢水庫成立首個當地水資源基金,透過提供財政誘因,鼓勵4,000多名農夫避免將化肥流入水源。我們計劃將同樣的模式沿用於為香港、廣州、深圳及其他城市地區4,000萬居民提供食水的東江。

什麼是水資源基金?

水資源基金以創新的模式為保育流域提供資金支持,由TNC於厄瓜多爾基多率先推行。我們成立的大多數水資源基金,都是由主要城市的水資源使用者,例如水利產業、能源公司、啤酒汽水廠以及公眾等等所支付的小額水費累積而成,主要用於上游流域的保育工作。事實上,水資源使用者繳付水費,無疑是等於對河流及湖泊的健康作出投資,保障自己能繼續享用清潔、充足的水資源。

上游:

上游流域的社區接受資助,以不同方式保護水資源,例如補償將牲畜遷離淡水水源的畜牧者、資助進行重新植林的社區等。水資源基金為目前及未來保護流域健康及完整性的工作,提供所需的資源。除此以外,水資源基金減少了人類對食用水安全處理系統的依賴,從而省下昂貴的成本。

下游:

透過水資源基金,下游流域的居民及企業將可獲得清潔充足的水源,而上游居民及社區則可以獲得補助以保護附近流域的健康;野生動物將可擁有健康的自然棲息地,讓牠們得以繼續生存及繁殖;森林及草原能繼續茁壯地成長,發揮其生態功能,包括潔淨地下水、為野生動物提供棲息地、吸收及儲存二氧化碳等等。