of the area known as the "blue corner" and Rock Islands coral seascape at the Republic of Palau.
Aerial view of the area known as the "blue corner" and Rock Islands coral seascape at the Republic of Palau. © Ian Shive

With trash and pollutants increasingly degrading our seas, oceans warming faster than predicted, and few tools available to accurately assess global fish stocks, our underwater world is in grave danger. According to Maria Damanaki, TNC’s Global Managing Director for Oceans, although we’re near the tipping point, we can still avoid the grimmest of outcomes through active conservation.

Nature can still recover and people can thrive. Sustainably managed fisheries, for example, would actually increase catch levels, and the creation of more protected areas can allow for fish populations to rebound.

Global Managing Director for Oceans

Healthy oceans are essential for humankind. They are a source for global food security, a major climate regulator and an engine for economic growth. The Pacific Ocean covers 30 percent of the Earth and is a unique testing ground for developing and applying conservation: Pacific cultures strongly value collaboration and peer-to-peer learning and recognize the need to work regionally and globally to find solutions to their unique challenge

To protect and improve marine areas, coastal zones and adjacent watersheds to provide equitable benefits to Pacific communities through economic opportunities and nature’s benefits, TNC focuses on:

PROTECTED AREAS MANAGEMENT: We are working with local NGOs, government and community partners to establish and maintain protected areas by providing them with technical assistance for activities such as integrated land-use planning, watershed restoration, fisheries management and climate change vulnerability assessments.

RESILIENCE TO CLIMATE CHANGE: TNC, together with partners, is helping communities across Pacific Island nations to be more resilient to climate change by using natural solutions, such as protecting mangroves that reduce storm impacts and planting alternative crops that are saltwater resistant.

ALTERNATIVE LIVELIHOODS: TNC is supporting communities and local governments in their ongoing efforts to diversify livelihoods that support conservation. For example, we are exploring the use of small, community-based, aquaculture initiatives to take pressure off degraded reef fisheries while ensuring community food security and economic stability.

帛琉的「藍色珊瑚礁」和洛克群島珊瑚礁景色。
鳥瞰景觀 帛琉的「藍色珊瑚礁」和洛克群島珊瑚礁景色。 © Ian Shive

海洋的垃圾和污染物與日俱增,為海洋帶來越來越大的傷害,而海洋暖化的程度更比預期快,加上能夠準確評估全球魚類數目的器材並不多,我們的海洋正面臨嚴峻考驗。TNC全球海洋董事總經理 Maria Damanaki 指出,雖然我們已接近臨界點,但仍可以努力避免最壞的情況發生。

「好消息是,透過積極的保育行動,我們仍然可以修復大自然,讓人類得以繼續健康繁衍。例如以可持續方式管理的捕魚業能增加捕魚數量,而規劃更多保育範圍則賦予空間讓魚群數目得以復原。」

健康的海洋是人類不可或缺的資源,它保障了全球的糧食供應,控制著氣候變化,以及推動了經濟發展。太平洋覆蓋地球30%的面積,是制訂和實施保育的獨特試點:太平洋文化相當重視合作以及向朋輩學習,並意識到在區域以至全球範圍內展開合作的需要,為其面對的獨特挑戰尋求解決方法。

為了保護和改善海洋區域、沿海地區和鄰近流域,從而透過經濟發展機會和自然的優勢為太平洋社區提供公平的利益,TNC 致力於以下工作:

  • 管理受保護區域:我們正在與當地的非政府組織、政府和社區夥伴合作,在土地運用綜合規劃、河流流域恢復、漁業管理和氣候變化弱點評估等方面向他們提供技術支援,從而建立和維護受保護區域。
  • 適應氣候變化:TNC與夥伴攜手合作,透過運用自然解決方案來協助一眾太平洋島國的社區適應氣候變化,當中包括保護能減低風暴威脅的红樹林,以及種植能抵禦鹹水的農作物。
  • 替代的生計方式:TNC正支援社區和當地政府,持續發展能有助保育的各種生計方式。例如我們正研究運用以社區為基礎的小型水產養殖行動,一方面保障社區糧食和經濟穩定發展,另一方面減低漁業對珊瑚礁的損害。