Recent rain turns the river a muddy-brown, viewed at a bend in the upper Yangtze River (Chang Jiang), Yunnan province, southwestern China. The Conservancy is working with the Chinese government to increase protection of Yunnan's natural areas by establishing a system of national parks.
Muddy River Recent rain turns the river a muddy-brown, viewed at a bend in the upper Yangtze River (Chang Jiang), Yunnan province, southwestern China. The Conservancy is working with the Chinese government to increase protection of Yunnan's natural areas by establishing a system of national parks. © © Ami Vitale

The Yangtze River is Asia’s longest waterway and plays a decisive role in China’s social and economic development. Spanning 11 provinces, its enormous basin provides over one-third of all the nation’s water resources, generates 40 percent of China’s GDP and produces food that two-thirds of the country’s nearly 1.4 billion people rely on. But development in the Yangtze basin comes at a steep cost: 40 percent of China’s wastewater is dumped into the river, threatening biodiversity and freshwater supply. In addition, hydropower can negatively affect fish and wildlife as well as degrade water quality by altering sediment patterns.

To advance our river work, TNC China established the Center for Sustainable Hydropower in Beijing to forge more balanced solutions between energy development and the conservation of healthy, productive rivers. The Center provides a platform for scientists and conservationists to engage directly with decision-makers—including government agencies, major companies and financial institutions—to influence how and where dams are built. Of primary importance is engaging the Chinese hydropower sector, which accounts for more than half of all new global dam construction.

As the Chinese government’s policy in the river basin moves away from economic development towards an emphasis on environmental protection, TNC has the opportunity to continue our long and trusted partnership with the government and private sector to improve the implementation of national policy intended to restore the ecological health of the Yangtze River and help mitigate the impacts of future growth in the Basin.

Over the next five years, we will work closely with partners—including local communities, national and municipal governments, companies, universities, NGOs and other institutions—to introduce and localize international best practices and to develop a healthy river pilot case in the highly populated river basin, the Chishuihe a major tributary of the upper Yangtze, demonstrating the way to balance the needs of both development and conservation on rivers. By 2022, our goal is to measurably improve river ecosystem health for at least 500 kilometers of key tributaries in the Yangtze Basin.

降雨使中國西南部雲南省長江上游充滿泥濘的河水
長江 降雨使中國西南部雲南省長江上游充滿泥濘的河水 © © Ami Vitale

長江是亞洲最長的河流,在中國的社會和經濟發展上有重要的地位。長江橫跨 11 個省份,其龐大的流域提供超過三分之一的全國食水資源、產生了中國 40%的 國民生產總值,以及可供全國近14億人口當中的三分之二人食用的糧食。然而,長江流域的發展代價卻相當大:中國40%的廢水被傾倒至長江中,威脅生物多樣性和淡水的供應。另外,水力發電會對魚類和野生動物構成威脅,同時沉積模式的改變亦會使河水水質下降。

為了推動我們在長江的工作,TNC中國在北京建立了可持續水力發電中心,務求在能源開發、保障健康和河流生產力之間制訂更平衡的解決方案。該中心為科學家和保育專家提供了一個平台與政府機關、大型企業和金融機構等相關決策者直接商談,為堤壩的建造方法和地點提出建議。 當中最重要的是能與佔全球新建堤壩一半以上的中國水力發電業緊密合作。

在中國政府將長江流域的政策從經濟發展轉變為強調環保之下,TNC有機會繼續與政府和私營部門建立長期和互信的合作關係,從而提升國家政策的執行力度, 以恢復長江生態健康及減低長江流域未來發展的影響。

未來五年,我們將會與當地社區、國家和市政府、公司、大學、非政府組織和其他機構等合作,引入國際最佳方案並將其本土化,同時在人口密集的赤水河流域設立一個健康河流試點,以展示如何在河流開發和保育需要上取得平衡。我們的目標是在 2022 年或之前顯著地改善長江主要支流最少 500 公里的河流生態健康。