is home to a plethora of unique species and some of the world's oldest human artwork, this area is ecologically, socially and culturally vital for Australia.
Fish River Northern Territories, Australia is home to a plethora of unique species and some of the world's oldest human artwork, this area is ecologically, socially and culturally vital for Australia. © Ted Wood

Australia is home to some of the world’s greatest natural resources, as well as the oldest continuous human culture. For at least 65,000 years, indigenous people have inhabited this great continent, their traditions inextricably linked to caring for the lands and waters that have provided for all of their needs. However, European settlement beginning in the 18th century disrupted many traditional management practices as indigenous communities were removed from their lands. In recent decades, climate change, invasive species, poor land management and growing development pressures have escalated the need for urgent, smart, conservation action.

Now, Indigenous Australians are returning to their lands to revive age-old traditional land management. TNC is supporting this movement by helping long-term, sustainable, land management and the well-being of people who depend on their in the Northern Australian savannas and remote outback arid lands (e.g., the Ten Deserts Alliance). In Northern Australia, TNC is helping indigenous communities revitalize traditional fire management, sequester carbon and strengthen local economies.

And in the most valuable, private conservation-focused land acquisition in Australia’s history, TNC, in a joint venture with Tiverton Agriculture, is protecting the Great Cumbung, one of the largest and most important wetlands in the Murray-Darling Basin in southeastern Australia. These wetlands will be managed in conjunction with the 87,000-hectare Gayini Nimmie-Caira property, which was purchased for conservation by the New South Wales government in 2012 and is now managed by TNC and the Nari Nari Tribal Council.

擁有眾多獨特的物種和世界上最古老的人類藝術品
澳洲北領地(Fish River Northern Territories) 擁有眾多獨特的物種和世界上最古老的人類藝術品 © Ted Wood

澳洲擁有世界上一些最瑰麗的天然資源,以及傳承至今的最古老人類文化。當地原居民在這大陸上居住了至少 65,000 年,在傳統上一直愛護著他們賴以為生的土地和水域。18 世紀時歐洲人開始在澳洲定居,由於原居民社區被迫遷移,因此打亂了很多當地的傳統管理方法。近數十年氣候變化、入侵物種、不良的土地管理和上升等帶來的發展壓力,大大提升了保育行動的迫切性。

現今,澳洲原居民已經返回他們的土地,以重新推行古老的傳統土地管理方式。TNC 正透過協助長遠的可持續土地管理,以及提升在北澳洲草原和偏遠內陸乾旱地區居民的福祉 (例如十大沙漠聯盟)來支援這個行動。在北澳洲,TNC正協助原居民社區激活傳統的火源管理、碳隔離,以及振興當地經濟。

在澳洲歷來最具價值的私人保育土地收購項目中,TNC 與 Tiverton Agriculture 以合資方式保護澳洲東南部墨雷達令流域其中一個最大型和最重要的濕地 —  Great Cumbung。我們將會與佔地 87,000 公頃的 Gayini Nimmie-Caira 物業一起管理這些濕地,而該物業於 2012 年由新南威爾士州政府購入,目前由 TNC 和 Nari Nari 部落委員會管理。