leadership camp where students work together on team building skills.
Nature Works Hong Kong leadership camp where students work together on team building skills. © Gary Chiu

Nature Works Hong Kong

Alumni Project Features

Nature Works has allowed me to unlock my potential and apply it into my own project to make a difference. I also realized the importance of community, creativity, and profitability in managing conservation on a larger scale.

2016 Nature Works Hong Kong Alumna

Elin Chan – Turning Fruit Waste into Fruity Clean

Creating a 100 percent natural cleaning detergent out of household waste might seem counter-intuitive, but Elin Chan decided to think outside the box with her Nature Works project. Her team, Eco-Gladiators, sought to reduce food waste and raise awareness about the negative impacts of commercial dish detergent.

Many commercial detergents contain palm oil – the product of an industry that is often linked to deforestation, greenhouse gas emissions and habitat degradation. And many households don’t think twice before throwing out fruit and vegetable scraps that contribute to waste issues in major cities like Hong Kong, where 13,800 tons of waste is disposed of at landfills every day. In response, Elin’s team developed Fruity Clean, a hand washing, dish washing and floor cleaning detergent made from fruit peels, and the team successfully sold the product at several eco-fairs including the Discovery Bay Handmade Bazaar. Beyond that, the team has gone on to teach more than 250 people how to create their own natural detergent through workshops at fairs and schools across Hong Kong.

In 2016, as one of the Nature Works Hong Kong ambassadors, Elin visited TNC’s project site in Longwu Reservoir in East China to learn about how we work with local communities to transform the traditional methods of bamboo farming to protect water sources and their livelihoods.

Check out this video below by Elin on how to make your own Fruity Clean.

Elin Chan – Turning Fruit Waste into Fruity Clean Check out this video below by Elin on how to make your own Fruity Clean.

The program opened us up to a community of environmentalists in Hong Kong. During the program I learned to be assertive, that wasn’t my personality before.

2013 Nature Works Hong Kong Alumnus

Ike Park — Saving Trees with Paper

Convincing organizations to change their practices can be tough, but the then-15-year-old Ike Park did just that in 2013 as a participant in Nature Works Hong Kong. He started out co-founding a project group called Inter-school Tree Planting Alliance, aiming to educate schools about the benefits of planting trees as a way to encourage reforestation in Hong Kong. However, when it became clear that this project’s return on investment would not be as high as hoped, he switched gears and decided to instead reduce deforestation on the consumption side by promoting an alternative to cutting down more trees.

This new initiative, called Project O2, lobbied secondary schools to make the switch to recycled paper and to keep it economically viable by buying in bulk. More than 25 institutions have since pledged to invest in recycled paper supplies, saving more than 4,000 trees annually. In 2014, Ike initiated the first Hong Kong Youth Environmental Summit with several local environmental NGOs. And in 2016, Ike won the SCMP Spirit of Hong Kong Award for his impressive entrepreneurial spirit and effort.

won the SCMP Spirit of Hong Kong Award for his impressive entrepreneurial spirit and effort.
Ike Park won the SCMP Spirit of Hong Kong Award for his impressive entrepreneurial spirit and effort. © South China Morning Post

You can help groom more green leaders like Elin.

Support us by becoming a volunteer or by making a donation.

學生於領袖訓練營建立團隊精神
自然大作為 學生於領袖訓練營建立團隊精神 © Gary Chiu

「自然大作為」

「自然大作為」畢業生項目展示

『自然大作為』讓我能在自己的項目中發揮潛能,為環保出一點綿力。在參與TNC在杭州龍塢的項目地點時,我意識到假如要成功地管理大規模的保育計劃,必須考慮社區、創意和成效等重要因素。

2015 香港「自然大作為」畢業生

Elin Chan:將水果殘渣變成水果清潔劑

雖然利用家居廢物製造出百分百的天然清潔劑似乎有點違反常理,但 Elin Chan 決定在「自然大作為」的項目中突破常規。她建立了「生態鬥士」團隊,目標是要減少浪費食物,並希望公眾更加了解市面上的清潔劑對環境所帶來的負面影響。

市面上很多清潔劑都含有棕櫚油,而棕櫚油工業本身與砍伐森林、溫室氣體排放和破壞動物棲息地等問題都是息息相關。與此同時,很多家庭每日都隨意地棄置水果和蔬菜殘渣,令香港這個大城市每天的堆填區廢物棄置量高達13,800噸,飽受廢物問題所困擾。有見及此,Elin 的團隊發明了Fruity Clean水果清潔劑。這是一種以果皮製造,用於清潔雙手、廚具及地板的清潔劑。團隊更成功在幾個包括愉景灣手作市集等生態博覽會上,出售他們的發明品。除此之外,團隊亦在香港各處的博覽會和學校中舉辦工作坊,向超過 250 人分享如何自製天然清潔劑。

2016 年,Elin 成為香港「自然大作為」的其中一位大使,並到訪 TNC 位於中國東部龍塢水庫的項目地點,學習與當地社區合作,改善傳統的種竹方法,藉以保護附近的水源和居民的生計。

查看這影片看看Elin示範如何製造你的水果清潔劑:

Elin Chan:將水果殘渣變成水果清潔劑 查看這影片看看Elin示範如何製造你的水果清潔劑

『自然大作為』引領我們成為香港環保社區的一份子。我在過程中學會做事要堅定自信,改變了我以往一貫的個性。

2013 香港「自然大作為」畢業生

Ike Park:以再造紙拯救樹木

雖然說服不同組織去改變他們的慣常做法是一件困難的事,但在 2013 年當時年謹15 歲的 Ike Park,卻在「自然大作為」中完成了這項艱難的任務。首先,他與其他參加者共同組成了一個名為跨校植樹聯盟的項目小組,目標是向學校灌輸如何透過植樹鼓勵香港社區重新造林。然而,當得悉項目的投資回報比預期中低時,Ike 與團隊立即改變計劃,決定與其鼓勵消耗者減少砍伐樹木,倒不如找出其他方法來避免破壞更多的森林。

在這個名為‘氧氣項目’的新項目中, Ike 團隊遊說各間中學改用再造紙,並以批量購入的方式來確保經濟效益。此後,超過 25 間機構承諾投資於再造紙的供應,每年因而拯救了逾 4,000 棵樹。2014 年,Ike 提議與幾個本地的非政府環保組織,一同舉辦香港首個年青人環保高峰會。2016 年,Ike 憑著出色的企業精神和毅力,獲南華早報頒發‘香港精神獎’

won the SCMP Spirit of Hong Kong Award for his impressive entrepreneurial spirit and effort.
Ike Park Ike 憑著出色的企業精神和毅力,獲南華早報頒發‘香港精神獎’。 © South China Morning Post