A group of students standing in wetlands, studying an information sheet.
Students in Hong Kong doing a biodiversity survey. © Gary Chiu

Hong Kong Projects

Environmental Education Program

Empowering the Next Generation of Environmental Leaders in Hong Kong

From 2013 to 2018, TNC’s Nature Works Hong Kong (NWHK) environmental youth leadership program engaged 400+ students in developing projects to address conservation challenges such as food waste, biodiversity loss and energy use. Last year, TNC transitioned management of NWHK to the English Schools Foundation and will continue to provide advisory support.

To create a world where people and nature thrive requires paradigm-shifting strategies that change how people value nature. We need more people to understand the critical role nature plays in our lives, and in response, more people will be inspired to step up and do what they can to save nature. This is why we are nurturing future green leaders in Hong Kong with the next phase of The Nature Conservancy’s (TNC) education program.

Hong Kong Jockey Club Logo

In 2019, building on our conservation science, with support from the Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust, we launched a new “Ridge to Reef Environment Education Program” to enhance the environmental literacy of Hong Kong’s youth. Using TNC’s Act-Learn-Lead model, we are working with Hong Kong’s students, teachers and schools with a holistic program.

The Ridge to Reef concept shows that what happens on land affects what happens in the water. With Hong Kong being a coastal city, healthy waterways are vital to all of us. To create lasting change, the HKJC R2R focuses on students’ environmental literacy, teachers’ curriculum and schools’ policies and procedures by:

  • supporting all levels of the educational structure within schools
  • developing localized, free online curriculum to teachers
  • deploying curriculum through educator training workshops
  • engaging students in hands-on citizen science conservation fieldwork, and
  • offering students internship opportunities at our TNC Hong Kong/Asia Pacific regional office.

 

Learn

We are now developing a free online nature education curriculum that will be available to all Hong Kong teachers. Materials available on this new “learning hub” will include videos, lesson plans, virtual field trips and classroom activities for teachers to use in expanding their students’ environmental awareness. We’ll be reaching out to Hong Kong teachers to show them how to use the learning hub and to take them on local field trips so they can understand first-hand some of the environmental challenges Hong Kong is facing.

HKJC Ridge to Reef Environmental Education Program This cartoon explains why the Ridge to Reef concept is so important to environmental conservation.

Act

To get Hong Kong secondary school students outside and learning about conservation science, we are launching Citizen Science in Action Field Survey Experiences: TNC-led field trips for 300+ students that include data collection, as well as in-class pre- and post-field trip learning materials. These trips will also help encourage students in community volunteerism for the good of our environment. The field experiences will focus on TNC’s oyster reef restoration work and estuary and terrestrial biodiversity.

learn about the benefits of oyster reefs.
Students in Hong Kong learn about the benefits of oyster reefs. © Vanessa Ma/TNC

Lead

A lucky 14 Hong Kong students will have the chance to develop hands-on conservation project design and implementation experience through internships at TNC offices and project sites. These internships can help build career pathways for participating students, as well as give the interns a chance to become conservation leaders among their peers.

doing a field survey as part of the HKJC education program.
Students in Hong Kong doing a field survey as part of the HKJC education program. © Joe Cheung/TNC

Our vision is to inspire a generation of young conservationists armed with the knowledge and skills to take action and preserve Hong Kong’s ecosystems.

If you are a student, teacher or education administrator who would like to know more about the HKJC R2R program contact natureworkshk@tnc.org.

Nature Works Hong Kong

Through The Nature Conservancy’s (TNC’s) Learning – Action – Leadership model, we aim to connect youth to nature and cultivate their interest in conservation by empowering youth to LEARN about, ACT to support and LEAD their own conservation solutions.

pitch day 2018.
Hong Kong Nature Works pitch day 2018. © Gary Chiu

LEARNING

Nature Works Hong Kong Learning Hub is a broad-based engagement program with low barriers to entry for students, teachers and school to build more interest in environmental conservation and sustainability by connecting people the topics to their daily lives.  The online curriculum platform exposes students to a wide variety of applications for environmental science, developing their passion and interest in the topic, and provides pathways to deeper engagements in the ACT and LEAD segments.

students researching their conservation project.
Hong Kong Nature Works students researching their conservation project. © TNC

ACTION

The Citizen Science in Action provides passionate students with opportunities for meaningful action in the field of conservation and sustainability.  The program engages young people in conservation action, inculcating a culture of volunteerism in schools and communities and build their science thinking by the data collection and analysis in field work.

students identifying oysters and shellfish on a field trip to Hong Kong's mud flats.
Hong Kong Nature Works students identifying oysters and shellfish on a field trip to Hong Kong's mud flats. © Gary Chiu

LEADERSHIP

The Leadership Development Program offers students the opportunity to build leadership and entrepreneurship skills by creating real-world environmental conservation initiatives that bring measurable impact in their schools. The program aims to build pathways to further study and careers in the field, equipping participants with the demand by organizations working in conservation and adjacent industries.

pitch day for 2018 where students presented their conservation projects.
Hong Kong Nature Works pitch day for 2018 where students presented their conservation projects. © Gary Chiu
Nature Works provides opportunities for engagement for students of all levels, from short in-class curricular modules, to hands-on field trips and a deep environmental leadership development program.

Nature Works 2018

In 2018, a total of 67 students participated in NWHK 2018 from 15 schools in China and Hong Kong. Student teams ran their pilot projects to improve the sustainability of their school in four topic areas – energy, indoor air quality, biodiversity and waste. In total, we have directly impacted 420 students from 80 schools across Hong Kong and China and helped launch 50 student-led projects.

The 2018 program included four distinct stages:

  1. Investigation and baseline development
  2. Core training
  3. Project development and advisory
  4. Project execution

The top four groups that received most votes from the judges and guests turned out to be:

Shatin College – Food Waste

Their goal was to reduce by 20% the amount of food waste from Shatin College that ends up going to the landfill, and in the three weeks of the pilot project phase, they collect over 100kg of food waste.

Island School – Food Waste

The team introduced new food waste bins on campus to collect food waste to convert it into compost. The team collected more than 28kgs of food waste to be composted.

students doing field work and connecting with Hong Kong’s diverse ecosystems.
Nature Works Hong Kong students doing field work and connecting with Hong Kong’s diverse ecosystems. © WANKAMAN

Renaissance College – Indoor Air Quality

The team hopes to see Hong Kong transform into a leader in sustainability, where clean and safe air is in abundance. The students identified four rooms in their school with the worst PM 2.5 level. They placed four different air-purifying plants in the rooms to improve indoor air quality.

Shenzhen Yantian Foreign Languages School – Biodiversity

The students took field trips to wetlands near their school collect data on local biodiversity and then created informative leaflets that were distributed to their peers and presented in classrooms to introduce what biodiversity is and why it is important to local environments. The team also created QR codes around campus for students to scan and learn more about the species found around the school. In addition, the team made a school green map model using 3D printing technology to showcase the species that can be found. 

Nature Works has allowed me to unlock my potential and apply it into my own project to make a difference. I also realized the importance of community, creativity, and profitability in managing conservation on a larger scale.

2016 Nature Works Hong Kong Alumna

Elin Chan – Turning Fruit Waste into Fruity Clean

Creating a 100 percent natural cleaning detergent out of household waste might seem counter-intuitive, but Elin Chan decided to think outside the box with her Nature Works project. Her team, Eco-Gladiators, sought to reduce food waste and raise awareness about the negative impacts of commercial dish detergent.

Many commercial detergents contain palm oil – the product of an industry that is often linked to deforestation, greenhouse gas emissions and habitat degradation. And many households don’t think twice before throwing out fruit and vegetable scraps that contribute to waste issues in major cities like Hong Kong, where 13,800 tons of waste is disposed of at landfills every day. In response, Elin’s team developed Fruity Clean, a hand washing, dish washing and floor cleaning detergent made from fruit peels, and the team successfully sold the product at several eco-fairs including the Discovery Bay Handmade Bazaar. Beyond that, the team has gone on to teach more than 250 people how to create their own natural detergent through workshops at fairs and schools across Hong Kong.

In 2016, as one of the Nature Works Hong Kong ambassadors, Elin visited TNC’s project site in Longwu Reservoir in East China to learn about how we work with local communities to transform the traditional methods of bamboo farming to protect water sources and their livelihoods.

Check out this video below by Elin on how to make your own Fruity Clean.

Elin Chan – Turning Fruit Waste into Fruity Clean Check out this video below by Elin on how to make your own Fruity Clean.

The program opened us up to a community of environmentalists in Hong Kong. During the program I learned to be assertive, that wasn’t my personality before.

2013 Nature Works Hong Kong Alumnus

Ike Park — Saving Trees with Paper

Convincing organizations to change their practices can be tough, but the then-15-year-old Ike Park did just that in 2013 as a participant in Nature Works Hong Kong. He started out co-founding a project group called Inter-school Tree Planting Alliance, aiming to educate schools about the benefits of planting trees as a way to encourage reforestation in Hong Kong. However, when it became clear that this project’s return on investment would not be as high as hoped, he switched gears and decided to instead reduce deforestation on the consumption side by promoting an alternative to cutting down more trees.

This new initiative, called Project O2, lobbied secondary schools to make the switch to recycled paper and to keep it economically viable by buying in bulk. More than 25 institutions have since pledged to invest in recycled paper supplies, saving more than 4,000 trees annually. In 2014, Ike initiated the first Hong Kong Youth Environmental Summit with several local environmental NGOs. And in 2016, Ike won the SCMP Spirit of Hong Kong Award for his impressive entrepreneurial spirit and effort.

won the SCMP Spirit of Hong Kong Award for his impressive entrepreneurial spirit and effort.
Ike Park won the SCMP Spirit of Hong Kong Award for his impressive entrepreneurial spirit and effort. © South China Morning Post

們正在進行一個生動多樣性的調查。
香港的學生 們正在進行一個生動多樣性的調查。 © Gary Chiu

TNC在香港的工作

環境教育計劃

給香港下一代的環保領袖們賦權

自2013年起,「自然大作為」已賦權予逾300 名關注環境的青年領袖,開展了超過 40 個社區項目。從鼓勵廿多個機構使用環保紙,以至發明及推動使用由家居廢料製造出來的天然清潔劑,同學們結合一些學校和社區面對的環保議題,社會也取得一些經改進的可持續性實踐成果,以及一群受啟發的青年領袖。

創造一個人與自然共同發展的世界,需要「典範轉移」式的策略,改變人們對大自然的態度。我們需要更多人明白大自然在我們的生活中扮演著重要的角色。這樣,就有更多人願意身體力行,竭力拯救大自然。這也是大自然保護協會 (TNC) 下一階段的教育項目,為何致力培育未來綠色領袖的原因。

我們正加倍努力擴大外展工作,在2020年推出由香港賽馬會慈善信託基金支持的「山海為一」環保教育項目 (HKJC R2R)。透過TNC 的「行動-學習-領導」模式,我們正在提高香港學生和教師的環保素質。

此「山海為一」的概念正正表示,陸地上發生的一切變化皆會影響海中的一切。香港作為一個沿海城市,健康的水道對大家非常重要。要創造長遠的改變,該項目將致力於提昇同學們的環保素質、教師的課程內容以及學校的政策和程序:

  • 支持校內各級教育架構,
  • 為教師們開發本地化及免費的網上課程,
  • 透過教育工作者培訓工作坊,配置相關課程,
  • 鼓勵學生參與體驗式的公民科學保育實地考察,以及
  • 為學生提供實習機會,在TNC 香港或亞太區辦事處當實習生。

 

學習

「山海為一」項目(HKJC R2R) 與教育專家及科學家攜手,製作一些免費的網上自然教育單元課程,並舉辦以城市為保育背景的教師培訓工作坊。這些數碼和廣泛的內容,讓學生們、教師和校方連繫到一些影響他們日常生活的議題,可建立大家對環境保育和可持續發展的興趣。

香港賽馬會 「山海為一」環境教育計劃

行動

為鼓勵香港的中學生走出班房,學習保育科學知識,我們現正開展公民科學實地調查體驗:TNC帶領逾300名學生作實地考察,收集數據,並提供考察前、後的課堂教材。這些考察活動也有助鼓勵同學們多參與義工服務,為大自然環境出一分力。

公民科學實踐為熱切追求保育知識的同學提供機會,在香港實行有意義的保育行動,參與TNC的蠔礁修復工作,還有河口生物多樣性以及陸上生物多樣性的工作。該計劃鼓勵年青人透過學校和社區加入義工行列。同學們透過實地考察,將學到收集數據和分析技巧,並從課堂知識連繫到實際保育工作的過程中,衍生新的想法、態度和行為。

們學習有關蠔礁所帶來的好處。
香港的學生 們學習有關蠔礁所帶來的好處。 © Vanessa Ma/TNC

領導

被揀選的學生將進入一個為期兩至四星期的TNC 香港保育項目實習生計劃。實習生將以分組形式,提出一些可提高環境保育公眾意識的創新行動。成功的例子將會在總結活動中加以慶祝和分享。

參加了香港賽馬會支持的教育計劃,正進行實地考察。
一群香港的學生 參加了香港賽馬會支持的教育計劃,正進行實地考察。 © Joe Cheung/TNC

我們的願景是啟發新一代的年青保育人士,裝備好有關知識和技能,以實際行動保存香港的生態系統。

如果您是一名學生、教師或教育管理人員,想了解更多有關 HKJC R2R 山海為一項目,請聯絡 natureworkshk@tnc.org。

「自然大作為」——環保領袖培育計劃

大自然保護協會(TNC)通過「行動」–「學習」–「領導」模式,加強學生與大自然聯繫,建立學生對自然保育的興趣,培育他們成為改善社區的環保領袖。「自然大作為」提供一連串的活動及學習機會,包括數小時的課堂、考察以及為期數月的領導才訓練計劃,讓學生由淺入深參與保育。

2018年度學生項目展示日
「自然大作為」 2018年度學生項目展示日 © Gary Chiu

「學習」

「自然大作為」提供網上環境科學教學資源平台,以最低參與門檻的方式讓學生從課堂中學習自然保育及可持續發展的知識,思考日常生活習慣及相關社會議題,為其後參與「行動」和「領導」活動培養興趣及建立基礎。

學生正在瀏覽網上環境科學教學資源平台
「自然大作為」 學生正在瀏覽網上環境科學教學資源平台。 © TNC

「行動」

公民科學行動旨在把學生對保育的熱誠轉化行動,提供機會讓學生親身體驗保育科研及考察,學習收集及分析數據,建立科學思維,培養年輕一代的義務貢獻保育文化。

學生們實地考察,嘗試把蠔分類
「自然大作為」 學生們實地考察,嘗試把蠔分類。 © Gary Chiu

「領導」

領袖訓練計劃提供企業和領導才訓練,啟發學生設計真實可行的環境保育項目,建立他們未來事業的路向,培訓業界人才。

學生們匯報他們的研究成果
「自然大作為」 學生們匯報他們的研究成果。 © Gary Chiu
「自然大作為」2018 大自然保護協會(TNC)通過「行動」–「學習」–「領導」模式,加強學生與大自然聯繫,建立學生對自然保育的興趣,培育他們成為改善社區的環保領袖。

2018 年計劃

在2018年,67位來自中國和香港15所學校的學生,參加了 2018「自然大作為」計劃。學生團隊推行了一系列關注節約能源、室內空氣質素、生物多樣性和廢物議題的試驗項目,以提高所屬學校於這四大領域的可持續表現。計劃觸及香港及中國80所學校共420名學生,並協助推出了50項以學生為主導的項目。

2018年計劃包括4大階段:

1. 校內初步調查及構思項目

2. 核心培訓

3. 項目開發及諮詢

4. 項目實行

專家評審團及嘉賓以投票方式選出表現最突出的4個小組,分別為:

 

沙田學院 – 廚餘

小組的目標是將沙田學院最終送去堆田區的廚餘量減少 20%。在實行試驗項目的三週內,小組總共收集了超過 100 公斤的廚餘。

 

港島中學 – 廚餘

小組在校園內引進了新的廚餘箱,以收集廚餘並轉化為堆肥。小組共收集了超過28公斤的廚餘作堆肥用途。

學生進行實地考察工作,與香港多元的生態系統連繫。
自然大作為 學生進行實地考察工作,與香港多元的生態系統連繫。 © WANKAMAN

啟新書院 – 室內空氣質素

小組的願景是將香港轉化為可持續發展的領導者,擁有清潔且對健康無害的空氣質素。學生先找出學校內四間空氣污染達PM2.5屬嚴重水平的課室,再於房間內設置四種不同的空氣淨化裝置,以改善室內空氣質素。

 

深圳外國語學校– 生物多樣性

學生實地考察學校附近的濕地,收集濕地內生物多樣性的資料,再製作宣傳單張派給同學,並透過於課堂上展示,介紹何謂生物多樣性及其對當地生態環境的重要性。團隊還在校園周圍設置二維碼,供學生掃描以了解更多棲息於學校四周的動植物。此外,團隊更利用 3D 打印技術製作學校綠色地圖模型,以展示這些動植物的棲息位置。

『自然大作為』讓我能在自己的項目中發揮潛能,為環保出一點綿力。在參與TNC在杭州龍塢的項目地點時,我意識到假如要成功地管理大規模的保育計劃,必須考慮社區、創意和成效等重要因素。

2015 香港「自然大作為」畢業生

Elin Chan:將水果殘渣變成水果清潔劑

雖然利用家居廢物製造出百分百的天然清潔劑似乎有點違反常理,但 Elin Chan 決定在「自然大作為」的項目中突破常規。她建立了「生態鬥士」團隊,目標是要減少浪費食物,並希望公眾更加了解市面上的清潔劑對環境所帶來的負面影響。

市面上很多清潔劑都含有棕櫚油,而棕櫚油工業本身與砍伐森林、溫室氣體排放和破壞動物棲息地等問題都是息息相關。與此同時,很多家庭每日都隨意地棄置水果和蔬菜殘渣,令香港這個大城市每天的堆填區廢物棄置量高達13,800噸,飽受廢物問題所困擾。有見及此,Elin 的團隊發明了Fruity Clean水果清潔劑。這是一種以果皮製造,用於清潔雙手、廚具及地板的清潔劑。團隊更成功在幾個包括愉景灣手作市集等生態博覽會上,出售他們的發明品。除此之外,團隊亦在香港各處的博覽會和學校中舉辦工作坊,向超過 250 人分享如何自製天然清潔劑。

2016 年,Elin 成為香港「自然大作為」的其中一位大使,並到訪 TNC 位於中國東部龍塢水庫的項目地點,學習與當地社區合作,改善傳統的種竹方法,藉以保護附近的水源和居民的生計。

查看這影片看看Elin示範如何製造你的水果清潔劑:

Elin Chan:將水果殘渣變成水果清潔劑 查看這影片看看Elin示範如何製造你的水果清潔劑

『自然大作為』引領我們成為香港環保社區的一份子。我在過程中學會做事要堅定自信,改變了我以往一貫的個性。

2013 香港「自然大作為」畢業生

Ike Park:以再造紙拯救樹木

雖然說服不同組織去改變他們的慣常做法是一件困難的事,但在 2013 年當時年謹15 歲的 Ike Park,卻在「自然大作為」中完成了這項艱難的任務。首先,他與其他參加者共同組成了一個名為跨校植樹聯盟的項目小組,目標是向學校灌輸如何透過植樹鼓勵香港社區重新造林。然而,當得悉項目的投資回報比預期中低時,Ike 與團隊立即改變計劃,決定與其鼓勵消耗者減少砍伐樹木,倒不如找出其他方法來避免破壞更多的森林。

在這個名為‘氧氣項目’的新項目中, Ike 團隊遊說各間中學改用再造紙,並以批量購入的方式來確保經濟效益。此後,超過 25 間機構承諾投資於再造紙的供應,每年因而拯救了逾 4,000 棵樹。2014 年,Ike 提議與幾個本地的非政府環保組織,一同舉辦香港首個年青人環保高峰會。2016 年,Ike 憑著出色的企業精神和毅力,獲南華早報頒發‘香港精神獎’

won the SCMP Spirit of Hong Kong Award for his impressive entrepreneurial spirit and effort.
Ike Park Ike 憑著出色的企業精神和毅力,獲南華早報頒發‘香港精神獎’。 © South China Morning Post