印尼

印尼每年都有180萬公頃的樹林被砍伐掉,面積相當於16個香港。這種程度的伐林排放大量的溫室氣體,導致氣候變化,不僅影響在香港生活的我們,更會為全球人類帶來威脅。

印尼對伐木管理不足,亦缺乏永續發展的概念,對當地社區造成損害。 伐木引發水土流失,令當地人日常飲用的食水因而受到污染。另外,每年都有3,000隻紅毛猩猩因為濫伐樹林而死亡,令紅毛猩猩族群的數量迅速減少。TNC正努力保護印尼樹林及海洋資源,守護對當地以至全球人類而言彌足珍貴的資源。

work_2.7Indonesia_thumb

從播下改變未來的種子……

在印尼,高達72%的原始森林已經被砍伐掉。世界銀行指出,大量伐木已經令印尼成為繼美國及中國之後的世界第三大溫室氣體排放國家。這三個國家以及其他高排放地區砍伐樹木的情況,是造成氣候變化的其中一個主因,身在香港的我們已經可以開始感受到氣候變化帶來的影響,如果我們繼續對這個問題視而不見,我們必將面對更常出現而且更為嚴重的氣候變化。點擊這裡,每月捐出港幣500元,兩年就可以種植500棵樹,足夠為四個人供給清新空氣。

為確保印尼的樹林不會被砍伐殆盡,並為了減低碳排放量,TNC的支持者和多個伙伴機構合作,成功協助我們在當地不同地區建立高成效的林木保育及重建項目。在印尼中部蘇拉威西省的羅瑞林都(Lore Lindu)雨林區,當地教師已經採用由TNC所制定的課程,教育學生大自然的價值;我們亦爭取政府對永續樹木的支持,並與當地社區合作,尋求破壞性伐木以外的謀生方式。以上種種工作,已經顯著改善了當地的樹林生態。同時,TNC也在婆羅洲的東加里曼丹省(East Kalimantan )進行保育項目,覆蓋遼闊的熱帶雨林地區,面積比整個柬埔寨還要大。熱帶雨林的樹木不單能夠為當地724個村落的村民及2,500隻紅毛猩猩提供食物、藥物及木材,亦同時透過伯勞(Berau)樹林減碳排放項目,減少溫室氣體排放。減少伐木亦能夠保留岸邊抓住淤泥和泥土的樹木,保持河流的水源潔淨,讓當地村民及動物能夠有食水飲用,魚類可以健康地繁殖下一代。除東加里曼丹外,TNC亦在原居民及印尼伐木公司對當地森林權益的爭奪戰中擔任中間人。現在,這些樹林以永續方式管理和開發,木材亦因為得到可持續性的認證而比以前賣得更好的價錢。由當地5個村落組成的共同管理協會主席 Jonas表示:「如果沒有TNC的協助,相信我們的樹林已經消失得無影無踪了!」

……到海洋的轉變

work_2.7Indonesia_thumb

在竭力保育印尼餘下的大片森林的同時,TNC和智然先鋒亦合力保護印尼沿海地區並深入海洋,確保印尼周邊海洋及珊瑚大三角能為當地以至全球提供穩定健康的海產供應。

為保護印尼的海洋,TNC與政府、當地居民及商界等各方面來自不同背景及階層的人士合作,讓直接受益的人們肩負起保護當地重要海洋資源的責任,藉此提高管理效率。上至橫跨多個國家的珊瑚大三角大型國際項目,下至拉賈安帕群島(Raja Ampat)的社區項目,TNC都積極參與其中,為印尼永續的海洋經濟發展打好基礎。

例如在2013年2月,在我們的協助下,拉賈安帕群島政府成功將四百萬公頃的沿及海洋地區劃為海洋保育區,令當地的魚類及鯊魚旺盛繁殖,數量激增。了解更多智然先鋒為該個項目作出的貢獻詳情。

今天就加入成為智然先鋒,每月捐款,提升香港及世界各地人類今天和未來的生活質素。

Indonesia

1.8 million hectares of Indonesian forests are cut down each year — for perspective, that’s an area 16 times the size of Hong Kong. This deforestation hurts us here in Hong Kong, and threatens communities across the globe, because of the massive amounts of climate-change-causing carbon released by such destruction.

Unmanaged and unsustainable logging in Indonesia also hurts local communities, whose survival depends on the forests and whose drinking water is contaminated by the resulting erosion. And 3,000 orangutans are killed yearly as these forests are chopped down, too — their numbers are rapidly dwindling. The Conservancy works in Indonesia to protect the forests and marine resources that locals — and the world — depend on.

work_2.7Indonesia_thumb

From Seeds of Change…

An astonishing 72% of Indonesia’s original forest cover has already been lost. The high deforestation rates in Indonesia make the country the world’s third largest greenhouse gas emitter, according to the World Bank, placing it just behind the U.S. and China. Deforestation in all three countries, as well as other top emitters, is partially responsible for the effects of climate change we’re already enduring here in Hong Kong — and that we will continue to endure in increasing severity and frequency if nothing is done to stop them. Click here to donate HK$500 per month. Over two years, you could help plant 500 trees, and every tree you plant could generate enough clean air for four people.

To ensure Indonesia’s forests don’t disappear and to help reduce carbon emissions, Conservancy supporters have helped us establish effective forest protection and restoration projects in multiple locations with a broad coalition of partners. From creating a conservation curriculum now being used by teachers in the rainforests of Lore Lindu to educate local students on the value of nature, to rallying government support for sustainable forestry, to partnering with local communities seeking alternatives to destructive forestry practices, the Conservancy’s work to keep Indonesia’s forests standing is making a difference. A Conservancy project in East Kalimantan spanning an area larger than Cambodia is protecting tropical rainforests for people in 724 villages and the 2,500 orangutans who live there and rely on them for food, medicine, and lodging. The project is also reducing emissions through the Berau forest carbon program. Reducing deforestation is also keeping local river water cleaner, free of silts and soils, so villagers and animals have water to drink and healthy fish populations can thrive. Elsewhere in Kalimantan, the Conservancy brokered an agreement between local indigenous villages and an Indonesian logging company who were warring over the future of local forests. Now, the forests are sustainably managed and harvested, and the wood sold fetches higher prices since buyers will pay extra for certified sustainable wood. “Without The Nature Conservancy,” says Jonas, head of the collaborative management body for the five villages involved, “I’m pretty sure the forest would already be gone.”

… To Seas of Change

To protect Indonesia’s seas, the Conservancy is partnering with governments, local people and businesses from the grassroots to the highest level to help ensure effective management of these vital marine environments by the people and for the people who rely on them. From community projects in places like Raja Ampat to big international commitments spanning multiple Coral Triangle governments for the sustainable management of marine resources across national borders, the Conservancy has helped pave the way for a sustainable marine economy in Indonesia.

For example, in February of 2013, our support helped enable the government of Raja Ampat to place its entire 4 million hectares of coastal and marine waters under protection as a marine sanctuary, where fish and shark populations are already beginning to thrive. Learn more about how the support of our Conservation Champions helped make this possible.

Become a Conservation Champion by starting your monthly gift today. You’ll join the world’s most ambitious effort to protect our planet, improving our quality of life in Hong Kong and around the world, today and in the future.