我們的工作

現今世界所要面對的挑戰可謂十分嚴峻。過度開發、空氣及食水污染,還有氣候變化令水位上升等問題都正在危害自然生態,令人類與大自然的關係失去平衡。TNC於1951年成立的時候,全球人口只有26億;但時至今日,人口已增長了超過一倍,估計到2050年,全球人口更會暴增至90億。

work_2.0Index_thumb

TNC的工作遍佈全球35個國家,透過與不同伙伴的合作,確保食水潔淨,製造及保存清新空氣,生產可持續的食物供應及對抗全球暖化,致力解決最嚴峻的環境挑戰。

我們對食物、食水及能源的苛索,令到大家賴以為生的天然資源瀕臨衰竭。這不單威脅到野生動物的生命及美麗的自然景致,更影響到我們的生活方式,令往後如何生存下去都成問題。認識一下你可以如何透過加入TNC成為智然先鋒,為地球帶來改變。

雖然很多大自然危機都源於香港以外的地方,但我們卻無可避免地受到影響。保護地球上的森林、河流和海洋,可以直接改善我們呼吸的空氣、飲用的食水以至進食的食物質素。TNC 與像你一樣的合作伙伴,為了大家現今以及下一代的生活,全力推動保護地球土地及食水資源的行動。我們聯同全球35個國家的科學家、社群、百萬名個人支持者、政府以至企業,以實際的方法去保護大自然,解決迫在眉睫的環境威脅。讓大自然得到保護而我們現有的生活方式亦得以保存。我們經已訂立全面的工作計劃去應付環境挑戰,但沒有你的支持,就難以成事。

氣候變化

氣候變化已經開始改變我們的地球,亦改變了香港人的生活方式。根據企業社會責任亞洲(CSR Asia)聯同香港大學在2008年所進行的「氣候變化為香港帶來的挑戰」研究指出:

  • 維多利亞港的平均水位在過去50年上升了12厘米,而香港天文台預計整個城市的平均水位到了2100年將會上升48厘米。
  • 預計香港在溫暖氣候影響下,降雨量將會增多,但亦可能出現旱情。
  • 香港會出現更多的極端天氣,例如熱浪、海潮突然暴漲、颱風及豪雨。當刮起3米高的暴浪時,市民及整個香港的基建都會受到嚴重衝擊。

TNC從政策的層面入手,推動減少碳排放,當中工作包括重建中國雲南省印尼婆羅州的森林以吸收當地大氣中的二氧化碳,並幫助政府、社群及企業制定應對氣候變化衝擊的方案。

地球所有生物都依靠森林來生存。森林帶給我們清新的空氣、燃料、食物、纖維及清潔水源,更有助平衡全球氣候。但可惜地球上近半的天然林木區已日漸消失。

每年,都有約整個尼泊爾般大的樹林被夷平——部分是源於非法砍伐,另一部分則是因為農業及土地發展,與蟲害及病毒入侵。砍伐林木更加構成總碳排放的20-25%,成為全球氣候變化的禍首。

面對全球森林危機,現今有不少方法可以保護及重建樹林。事實上,保存及重新種植樹林更可以大大改善我們的生活。因為一棵樹就已經能產生足夠四人所需的氧氣。像香港這些城市,每年有數千人因為空氣污染而致命,更有數百萬人因此染病,故此植樹及保護林木對我們的健康可謂十分重要。

在中國,TNC已協助全國多個地區保護及重建森林,讓大自然和人類得以受惠:

  • 2007年,TNC協助中國大陸創立首個國家公園——位於雲南省的普達措國家公園,從而保護樹林及野生動物,並振興該區的旅遊業及創造與保育有關的工作機會。
  • 在四川省其中一個碩果僅存也是最重要的大熊貓棲息地平武縣,我們建立了中國首個社會公益型自然保護區,創下土地保育的先河。
  • TNC聯同瑞士藥廠諾華(Novartis)、中國政府與及四川省涼山地區的民眾,重建因為燃料開發而被砍伐的3,900公頃樹林。

淡水

亞太地區有75%的地方都面臨食水短缺問題。以香港為例,本地食水供應有限,因此我們每天飲用的食水,有70%至80%是從廣東省輸入。然而,潔淨食水的供應問題並非香港獨有,在世界各地都時有發生;而且估計到了2025年,世界上大部分人口都會面臨食水短缺的問題。

面對這個問題,你都可以出一分力。10個意想不到的節約用水方法。

TNC現正保護及改善中國內地的淡水管道,使水源既可飲用,也可作發電及灌溉之用,從而造福數以百萬計的居民。

海洋

地球之所以被喚作「藍色星球」,是因為這裡有百分之七十的面積為海洋。海洋為我們提供食物、醫藥和氧氣,亦可作交通及休閒用途。可惜現時全球99%的海洋不單未受保護,更因為海岸建設、土地污染及過度捕魚而備受破壞。

在香港人來說,我們的人均海鮮消耗量是全球平均數量的四倍,由此可見我們比世界上其他人更需要一個健康的海洋。大家日常進食的海鮮,大部分產自珊瑚大三角這類地區,但如果當地漁民使用破壞性的方法捕魚,危害當地珊瑚礁的健康,那麼我們慣常吃到的海鮮,很快就無法再供應。

TNC聯同像你一樣的伙伴,透過修復海岸棲息地及珊瑚礁、建設海洋保護區、鼓勵可持續的捕魚方式及協助人類與各種海洋生物應對氣候變化等方式來保護海洋。

Our Work

Today’s world faces formidable challenges: overdevelopment, polluted air and water, and rising sea levels from climate change are threatening the natural balance between humans and our planet. When The Nature Conservancy was founded in 1951, the world’s population was 2.6 billion; today, it has more than doubled, and will reach 9 billion by 2050.

work_2.0Index_thumb

Our growing needs for food, water and energy are straining the natural systems we depend on. Wildlife and the world’s most inspiring natural places are threatened, and so are we: our way of life, and our ability to survive these changes, dangles by a thread. Become a Conservation Champion by starting your monthly gift today.You’ll join the world’s most ambitious effort to protect our planet, improving our quality of life in Hong Kong and around the world, today and in the future.

Even though some of these threats originate beyond the shores of Hong Kong, we are nevertheless affected. By protecting the vitality of the world’s forests, rivers, and oceans, we can improve the air we breathe, the water we drink, and the food we eat — right here in Hong Kong. The Nature Conservancy and partners like you are mobilized in the world’s most ambitious effort to protect the vital lands and waters we all depend on — for today, and for future generations. Uniting scientists, local communities, one million individual supporters, and governments and businesses from 35 countries around the world, we’re tackling the most urgent global environmental threats, implementing realistic solutions that protect nature and protect our way of life. We have a framework for addressing these pressing challenges, but we can’t do it without you.

Climate Change

Climate change is already beginning to transform our planet and will likely alter our way of life in Hong Kong, according to a study by CSR Asia and Hong Kong University, “Climate Change Challenges for Hong Kong”:

  • The average sea level in Victoria Harbor has risen by 0.12 meters in the past 50 years, and the Hong Kong Observatory predicts that the city’s average sea levels could rise 0.48 meters by 2100.
  • Hong Kong is projected to receive more rainfall as the climate warms but will also experience times of water shortages.
  • Hong Kong will see increased extreme weather events, including heat waves, tidal surges, typhoons, and heavy rains. Storm surges of up to 3 meters could pose a major threat to the people and infrastructure of the city.

The Nature Conservancy is confronting climate change by supporting policies to reduce carbon emissions; by initiating projects to restore forests and remove carbon from the atmosphere in places like China’s Yunnan Province and in Borneo, Indonesia; and by helping governments, local communities, and businesses plan for climate change and adapt to its impacts.

Forests

Forests help sustain all life on Earth. They give us fresh air, fuel, food, fiber, and clean water, and they moderate our global climate. But nearly half of Earth’s original forest cover is gone.

Each year, an area nearly the size of Nepal is deforested — that’s partially due to illegal logging, but also to agriculture, development, invasive pests, and diseases. Deforestation also creates 20-25% of all carbon pollution and is a major contributor to global climate change.

For all the threats to the world’s forests, there are many ways to help protect and restore them. And preserving and replanting forests makes a big difference in our lives, too: just one tree can generate enough clean oxygen to meet the needs of four people. In a place like Hong Kong, where thousands die every year from air pollution and millions more get sick, planting trees and protecting forests is essential for our health.

In China, the Conservancy has helped protect and restore forests for the good of nature and people, all around the country:

  • In 2007, The Nature Conservancy helped China create its first national park, Pudacuo National Park in Yunnan Province, to protect forests and wildlife and also bring tourism and conservation-related jobs to the area.
  • In Sichuan Province’s Pingwu County — one of the most important remaining pieces of giant panda habitat left in the world — we helped create China’s first land trust reserve, a pioneering example of land conservation.
  • A partnership between The Nature Conservancy, Novartis, the Chinese government, and communities in Liangshan is restoring 3,900 hectares of forests that were cut down to fuel industrialization.

Fresh Water

In the Asia Pacific region, 75% of countries face water shortages, and the freshwater supply in Hong Kong is limited since 70-80% of the water we drink here is imported from Guangdong Province. Our struggle to maintain adequate supplies of clean water for local people is, unfortunately, not unique: water shortages will be a fact of life for most people on the planet by 2025.

But there are things you can do with these. 10 Surprising Ways You Can Use Less Water.

The Conservancy is working to protect and improve China’s freshwater arteries that provide drinking water, power, and irrigation to millions.

Oceans

We call it the “blue planet” for a good reason: 70% of Earth is covered by oceans, which provide us with food, medicine, oxygen, transportation, and recreation. But 99% of the world’s oceans remain unprotected, while coastal development, land pollution, and overfishing pose major threats.

In Hong Kong, we consume four times more seafood than the global average, meaning that our way of life depends even more on healthy oceans than other people’s. If we don’t ensure sustainable fishing practices and healthy reefs in places like the Coral Triangle — where much of the seafood we eat comes from — we could find ourselves without the foods we love to eat.

The Nature Conservancy and our partners like you work to protect the world’s oceans by restoring coastal habitats and coral reefs, creating marine protected areas, encouraging sustainable fishing, and helping people and marine life adapt to climate change